Hammer, Hayek, 48 more have 'Made It'

Paley Center honors women in biz

USA and Sci Fi Channel president Bonnie Hammer, Caryn Mandabach and Salma Hayek are among the 50 new honorees for the Paley Center for Media's "She Made It: Women Creating Television and Radio."

The initiative, launched in 2005 by the Paley Center (formerly the Museum of Television & Radio), aims to "celebrate the achievements of creative and business women in the industries of television, radio and new media."

Also among this year's list of writers, directors, producers, journalists, sportscasters and executives are Gracie Allen, Candice Bergen, former Lifetime chief Betty Cohen, Linda Ellerbee, Marta Kauffman, Barbara Kopple, Lynda La Plante, Suze Orman, Rosie O'Donnell, A&E Networks chief Abbe Raven, Shonda Rhimes, former Fox and UPN head Lucie Salhany, Jennifer Saunders, Martha Stewart, Hannah Storm, Nina Totenberg, Meredith Vieira, Dr. Ruth Westheimer and Paula Zahn.

"Powerful, talented women are not as uncommon in today's media industry as was once the case," Paley Center president and CEO Pat Mitchell said. "And today's women media leaders owe a great deal to their predecessors, who broke new ground in every sector of the media business. ... 'She Made It' honors both the trailblazers and today's outstanding women in radio and television."

The honorees were selected by the Paley Center in consultation with a steering committee led by co-chairs Loreen Arbus and Kay Koplovitz. The third annual "She Made It" ceremony is set for Dec. 6 at the Paley Center in New York.

This year's honorees:

Perry Miller Adato
Gracie Allen
Jay Presson Allen
Candice Bergen
Frances Buss
Peggy Charren
May Chidiac
Betty Cohen
Judy Crichton
Nancy Dickerson
Margaret Drain
Rebecca Eaton
Linda Ellerbee
Betty Furness
Amy Goodman
Lee Grant
Bonnie Hammer
Salma Hayek
Maria Hinojosa
Gwen Ifill
Marta Kauffman
Barbara Kopple
Claire Labine
Lynda La Plante
Margaret Loesch
Nancy Malone
Caryn Mandabach
Mary Margaret McBride
Beth McCarthy Miller
Marilyn Suzanne Miller
Andrea Mitchell
Gloria Monty
Christine Ockrent
Suze Orman
Rosie O'Donnell
Abbe Raven
Shonda Rhimes
Martha Rountree
Radhika Roy
Lucie Salhany
Jennifer Saunders
Martha Stewart
Hannah Storm
Nina Totenberg
Ellen M. Violett
Meredith Vieira
Judith Cary Waller
Dr. Ruth Westheimer
Yang Lan
Paula Zahn