HBO tops Sports Emmy noms


NEW YORK -- HBO's canceled "Inside the NFL" received five of HBO Sports' 31 nominations for this year's Sports Emmys.

"Inside the NFL" and "Real Sports With Bryant Gumbel" led the field with five nominations each. HBO Sports garnered the most nominations among the networks, with ESPN next with 27.

Vying for outstanding live sports special are CBS' Super Bowl XLI as well as ABC and ESPN's 2007 Open Championship, CBS' AFC Championship Game, Fox's BCS on Fox: Tostitos Fiesta Bowl and NASCAR on Fox: Daytona 500, as well as NBC's Dallas-Seattle Wild Card Playoff.

Receiving nominations for outstanding live sports series were ESPN's Monday Night Football, NASCAR on Fox, NBA on ESPN/ABC, NBC Golf Tour, NFL on Fox and NBC's Sunday Night Football.

Again this year, HBO dominated the category of outstanding sports journalism since it submitted the only four entries. They were on topics as diverse as sports in Iraq, dogfighting and the concussion crisis in the National Football League.

This year included several new categories, such as outstanding new approaches in coverage, longform and general interest.

NBC/HBO's Bob Costas once again was nominated as outstanding studio host, as was Versus' Al Trautwig, HBO's Bryant Gumbel, TNT/TBS's Ernie Johnson and CBS' James Brown. NBC's Al Michaels joined HBO's Jim Lampley, CBS' Jim Nantz, Fox's Joe Buck, TNT's Marv Albert and NBC's Mike Emrick in the play-by-play category. Last year's winner in studio analyst, NBC/HBO/NFL Network's Cris Collinsworth, made the nominations again this year along with TNT's Charles Barkley, HBO's Cris Carter, ESPN's Jay Billas, Fox's Terry Bradshaw and ESPN's Tom Jackson.

Michaels' broadcasting partner John Madden was nominated as sports event analyst, along with TNT's Doug Collins, CBS' Gary Danielson and Phil Simms and Fox's Tim McCarver and Troy Aikman.

Also receiving a large number of nominations were NBC (23), Fox (18), CBS (17) and TNT (12). NFL Network registered eight.

The awards will be handed out April 28 at the Time Warner Center in New York. Also being honored with a lifetime achievement award is Frank Chirkinian, the CBS veteran who pioneered the televising of golf matches in 1958 and produced 38 straight Masters tournaments.