HBO's 'The Normal Heart' to Receive Stanley Kramer Award

'The Normal Heart' Cast
Austin Hargrave

“I’ve worked with too many straight colleagues on this who have been emotionally devastated by it to foolishly believe it’s just a gay issue,” says Jim Parsons (second from right) of the HBO film. He was photographed with co-stars (from left) Taylor Kitsch, Mark Ruffalo and Matt Bomer on March 5 at Hotel Silverlake in Los Angeles.

It is the first non-theatrical movie to receive the prestigious award from the Producers Guild of America

The Normal Heart, which aired on HBO, will become the first non-theatrical movie ever honored with the Stanley Kramer Award by the Producer’s Guild of America when it is presented at the group’s 26th annual awards gala on Jan. 24, 2015.

The award honors a production or producer or other individual, according to the announcement, “whose achievement or contribution illuminates and raises public awareness of important social issues.”

“The producers responsible for The Normal Heart pulled off an extraordinary feat of storytelling,” said Vance Van Petten, the PGA’s national executive director. “The film is both a moving narrative that lends a human face to the crucial early struggles against HIV/AIDS, and a compelling  call to uphold the activist legacy of its creators and inspiration.”

The PGA said the award will go to the producers. They are Scott Ferguson, Alexis Martin Woodall, Jason Blum, Dede Gardner, Dante Di Loreto, Ryan Murphy and Brad Pitt.

The Normal Heart, which has already won a primetime Emmy and is a Golden Globe nominee, is written by Larry Kramer, based on his Tony award winning play. It stars Mark Ruffalo, Matt Bomer, Taylor Kitsch, Jim Parsons and Julia Roberts.

Previous recipients include The Great Debaters, An Inconvenient Truth, Hotel Rwanda, In America, In the Land of Blood and Honey and the 2014 honoree, Fruitvale Station