Hollywood Film Awards to Honor Adam Sandler, Director Joe Wright (Exclusive)

Adam Sandler in 'The Meyerowitz Stories'

Sandler will receive the comedy award for 'The Meyerowitz Stories,' while Wright will receive the director award for 'Darkest Hour.'

Adam Sandler and director Joe Wright are the latest talent to be named as honorees at the upcoming Hollywood Film Awards.

Sandler will receive the Hollywood Comedy Award for his performance in the Netflix feature film The Meyerowitz Stories, directed by Noah Baumbach. The movie also stars Ben Stiller and Dustin Hoffman.

Wright will receive the Hollywood Director Award for the Focus Features film Darkest Hour, starring Gary Oldman. The film centers on Winston Churchill and the incredible odds he faced during World War II.

The 21st annual Hollywood Film Awards are set for Sunday, Nov. 5, at the Beverly Hilton. James Corden returns as host.

Previously announced honorees include Jake Gyllenhaal with the Hollywood Actor Award for the film Stronger; Kate Winslet with the Hollywood Actress Award for the film Wonder Wheel; The Big Sick cast with the Hollywood Comedy Ensemble Award; Jamie Bell for New Hollywood Actor Award for his role in Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool; and Common, Andra Day and Diane Warren with the Hollywood Song Award for the original song “Stand Up For Something” with music by Diane Warren, lyrics by Diane Warren and Common and performed by Andra Day featuring Common, from the film Marshall.

Other honorees include Andrew Kosove, Broderick Johnson and Cynthia Sikes Yorkin with the Hollywood Producer Award for the film Blade Runner 2049; Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber with the Hollywood Screenwriter Award for The Disaster Artist; Coco for Hollywood Animation Award; Mudbound with the Hollywood Breakout Ensemble Award; Sam Rockwell with the Hollywood Supporting Actor Award for his role in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri; Allison Janney with the Hollywood Supporting Actress Award for her role in I, Tonya; Mary J. Blige with the Hollywood Breakout Performance Actress Award for her work in the film Mudbound; Timothee Chalamet with the Hollywood Breakout Performance Actor Award for his role in the film Call Me by Your Name; and the cast of I, Tonya, including Margot Robbie, Allison Janney, Sebastian Stan, Paul Walter Hauser, Julianne Nicholson and Caitlin Carver, with the Hollywood Ensemble Award.

The ceremony, produced by Dick Clark Productions, also honors artists in the categories of cinematography, visual effects, film composing, costume design, editing, production design, sound, and makeup and hairstyling.

This year’s ceremony will benefit MPTF, which supports the entertainment community in living and aging well, with dignity and purpose, and in helping each other in times of need.

Additional honorees will be announced in the coming days.