Hollywood Reporter Leads 2013 National Entertainment Journalism Awards With 48 Nominations

Frank W. Ockenfels 3

Earning by far the most nominations for any entertainment outlet, noms include best website and two mentions for journalist of the year.

The Hollywood Reporter has earned 48 nominations in the L.A. Press Club's 2013 National Entertainment Journalism Awards, including nods for best entertainment website and two mentions for journalist of the year.

THR led all nominees for the awards, which will be handed out at a gala ceremony Nov. 24 at the Millennium Biltmore hotel in downtown Los Angeles.

THR received two nods in the journalist of the year category: Editor-at-large Kim Masters is a nominee for her work with THR and KCRW, while executive editor, features Stephen Galloway also was nominated for his work with THR.

Meanwhile, THR.com -- which set an all-time high traffic record in August, reaching 12.3 million global unique visitors -- was nominated for best entertainment website.

To celebrate its 100-year history, the Los Angeles Press Club this year created a special Centennial Awards category in which journalists were invited to submit their "best career work" regardless of year of publication or broadcast, in any of four areas: celebrity photo, celebrity interview, entertainment investigation and entertainment feature. In the celebrity photo category, THR editorial director Janice Min, photo and video director Jennifer Laski, creative director Shanti Marlar and photographer Peggy Sirota were nominated for their work on "Barrier Breakers: Sidney Poitier and Halle Berry" (2010).

In the celebrity interview category, Galloway was nominated for his profiles on Brad Pitt (2012) and George Clooney (2012) as well as the feature "Whatever Happened to Ted Turner?" (2012). Masters earned another nom for her interview with Kathleen Kennedy (2013).

Three THR stories will vie for career-best entertainment investigation: senior writer Gary Baum's "Has an A-List Hollywood Rehab Gone Off the Deep End?" (2013); executive editor Matthew Belloni and former senior writer Daniel Miller's "The Nerd Who Burned Hollywood" (2012); and Masters and Miller's "The Secret World of Hollywood Poker" (2013).

Masters also was nominated in the career-best category of entertainment feature for "The Making of Burlesque" (2010), while senior style writer Merle Ginsberg earned a mention for "Red Carpet Stories" (2012).

Meanwhile, television editor Lacey Rose was nominated for best business feature for her profile on Aaron Sorkin. Masters also received a nomination for her work on "KCRW's The Business: VFX Industry in Trouble" alongside Darby Maloney.

Baum received another two noms in the investigative category, for "Malibu's $20 Million Sand War" and for a piece with Miller, "The Most Sinful Period in Hollywood's History." The latter also was nominated for best multimedia package, a nom shared by Baum, Miller and Laski, and will vie with the Joe Francis package by Galloway and Laski and the "Directors Roundtable" package by Galloway, Belloni and Laski.

Belloni also received a mention in the best news (print) category for "The War on Leno."

For personality profiles in print, Galloway earned two noms, for his Larry Flynt and Denzel Washington profiles. Masters also was mentioned for "A Day With Norman Lear at 90."

Music editor Shirley Halperin was nominated for best feature/series over 1,000 words (print) for "Making Over Idol (Again)."

Under print critics, film editor Gregg Kilday and chief film critic Todd McCarthy both earned noms for "The Race" and "Tragedy at the Movies," respectively.

Awards analyst Scott Feinberg was nominated for best columnist for "5 Things the Film Academy Should Do at Its May 4 Meeting," while guest columnist/producer Gavin Polone was cited for "No, I Will Not Do You Another Favor."

In the TV/video/film categories, Laski, senior video editor Tess Gomet, deputy photo editor Carrie Smith and former deputy photo editor Jenny Sargent were nominated for best celebrity-oriented feature for "Behind the Scenes of THR's 2012 Emmy Icons Cover Shoot."

Meanwhile, THR.com editor Chris Krewson, lead video editor Victor Klaus and Laski were nominated for best TV/video/film feature for "Ben Schwartz Campaigns for Don Cheadle."

THR received four nominations in the category of documentary or special program, short. Feinberg, Laski, videographer Raphael Laski, Smith and Gomet for "Victims of Hollywood's Blacklist"; Feinberg and Klaus for "A Few Minutes With Feinberg: The Public Performs the Oscar-Nominated Films"; Laski, Smith and video editor Pablo Teyssier for "Behind the Scenes of THR's Los Angeles Dodgers Cover Shoot"; and senior editor Stacey Wilson, Smith, Jennifer Laski and Klaus for "Emmy Roundtable With the Cast and Crew of Downton Abbey."

THR also was nominated three times in the documentary or special program, feature, for "THR's Actor Roundtable: Full Uncensored Interview," by Galloway, Belloni, Jennifer Laski, Klaus and Sargent; "The Directors Roundtable: Full Uncensored Interview," by Galloway, Belloni, Raphael Laski, Klaus and Jennifer Laski; and "Full Uncensored Comedy Actor Emmy Roundtable 2013," by Smith, video producer Stephanie Fischette, Klaus, Rose and Wilson.

In the radio category, Masters received another nom alongside Maloney for best personality profile for "KCRW's The Business: Ben Affleck's Career Resurrection."

Masters also was nominated for best online news story for THR for "Sources: NBC Discussing Jay Leno Exit Plan," while Feinberg was cited for best online personality profile for "On Eve of Oscars, Zero Dark Thirty's Jessica Chastain Is Finally Able to Relax." Feinberg also was nominated for best entertainment blog for "The Race."

THR.com deputy editor Kimberly Nordyke was nominated for best online feature/series for "From the Bible to the Amish, Why Religion Is a Hit on Cable," while chief TV critic Tim Goodman was mentioned for "Liz & Dick."

In the photography categories, THR receive two mentions for best portrait: "The Innovator: Oprah Winfrey," by Jennifer Laski, Smith, Marlar and photographer Joe Pugliese, and "Norman Lear, The Man Who Changed TV," by Laski, Marlar, Sargent and photographer Art Streiber.

Best feature photo noms went to Jennifer Laski and Pugliese for "Sidney Poitier with his granddaughter Paloma and daughters Anika and Sydney Tamila" and also to Jennifer Laski, Marlar, Streiber and Sargent for "Jennifer Lopez and Stylists Mariel Haenn and Rob Zangardi."

For best photo essay, Marlar, Jennifer Laski, Smith and Sargent earned a nom for "Oscar Icons 2013," while Smith, Jennifer Laski, Marlar and photographer Wesley Mann were nominated for "Dodgers."

Tickets for the Nov. 24 awards gala can be purchased online.