Hollywood Reporter Nabs Best Website, 4 Journalist of the Year Noms for SoCal Journalism Awards

Austin Hargrave

Gary Baum, Lesley Goldberg, Ryan Parker and Seth Abramovitch are all nominated for journalist of the year honors.

The Hollywood Reporter has received 41 nominations for this year's Southern California Journalism Awards, including four for journalist of the year and another for best website.

Gary Baum received a nomination for journalist of the year in the print category (more than 50,000 circulation), while Lesley Goldberg and Ryan Parker were nominated in the online category and Seth Abramovitch in the entertainment category. THR.com, meanwhile, was cited as best website in the news organization category.

In addition, five THR blogs will vie for best blog honors: for best individual blog, Scott Feinberg and "The Race," and for best group blog, Aaron Couch, Borys Kit and Graeme McMillan for "Heat Vision"; Lesley Goldberg, Michael O'Connell, Bryn Elise Sandberg and Kate Stanhope for "The Live Feed"; Eriq Gardner and Ashley Cullins for "THR Esq."; and Booth Moore, Stephanie Chan, Samantha Reed, Sarah Gidick, Carol McColgin, Jane Carlson and Jeanie Pyun for "Preta-a-Reporter."

In the print categories, Tatiana Siegel and Cullins are up for best hard news story for "'Birth of a Nation' Blowback: What Happens at Festivals Now." Meanwhile, THR scored three noms in the investigative category (magazines): Baum and Alex Ritman for "How Many Bottles of Champagne Does It Take to Save the Planet?"; Stephen Galloway and Scott Johnson for "How David Milch Made $100 Million and Lost a Fortune"; and Lesley Goldberg for "It's a Bird, It's a Plane, It's ... $100,000, Easy!"

In the commentary (magazines) category, THR scored two nominations: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar for "Why Black People Are 'Invisible' to Oscar Voters" and Michael Wolff for "Ringside With Steve Bannon at Trump Tower as the President-Elect's Strategist Plots 'An Entirely New Political Movement.'"

Abramovitch was cited for best feature over 1,000 words for "Little People, Big Woes" and best feature under 1,000 words for "Like That, Salma Hayek Killed My Hard-On." He'll compete in the latter category with Siegel for "I Was Dazed, Confused and Deafened by Boos."

Baum and Johnson also were nominated for best entertainment news or feature for "Bang Bang! Hollywood and Guns" as were Kim Masters for "HBO's High-Class Problems" and Rebecca Sun and Ashley Lee for "Tragedy Behind the 'Killing Fields' Star Who Won a Supporting Actor Oscar."

In the personality profile category for film/TV, Feinberg is nominated for "The Rabbi Who Can Bless Your Movie" while Chris Gardner is up for "The Last Living Silent Star." For best personality profile (politics/business/the arts), Patrick Brzeski was cited for "Wang Jianlin: The Chairman Will See You Now."

Baum also received a nom for best public service news or feature for "Actors: 'It's So Easy to Exploit Them,'" and Abid Rahman was nominated in the gender/LGBTQ reporting category for "The Oprah of China Happens to Be Transgender."

In the criticism categories, Jon Frosch is nominated in best TV/film for "Looking The Movie: Outfest Review" and David Rooney in theater/performing arts for "'Long Day's Journey Into Night': Theater Review."

In addition to its best website and best blog noms, THR scored several nominations in the online categories. Parker will vie for best personality profile for "John Candy Remembered: His Children Share New Stories About Their Late Father on the Eve of His Birthday." For best sports news/feature/commentary, Feinberg is nominated for "Mike Francesa, King of New York Sports Radio for 30 Years, Prepares to Abdicate His Throne," and Daniel Fienberg is up for best entertainment commentary for "Critic's Notebook: A Year on the TV Nostalgia Beat."

THR also landed two noms in the category honoring best use of social media to enhance and/or cover a story (organization): Gidick and McColgin for "The 25 Most Powerful Stylists in Hollywood" and Jennifer Liles and Christina Schoellkopf for "Creative Until You Die."

The latter also was nominated for best multimedia package for Jennifer Laski, Peter Flax, Stephanie Fischette, Natalie Heltzel and Martin Schoeller alongside "Locked and Loaded (Hollywood's Relationship With Guns" by Victoria McKillop, Laski, Johnson, Ryan Heraly and Baum.

Meanwhile, Shanti Marlar, Laski, Carrie Smith, Kate Pappa and We Are the Rhoads are nominated for best portrait for their work with Rachel McAdams. In addition, Marlar, Laski, Smith, Michelle Stark and Miller Mobley are nominated for best entertainment photo for "Comedy Actors Roundtable."

In the TV categories, Heraly was nominated for best videographer for "THR Eats." And Victoria McKillop, Laski, Johnson and Heraly are mentioned in the investigative category for "The Gun Industry's Lucrative Relationship With Hollywood." Heltzel, Victor Klaus and Fischette were nominated for best personality profile/interview for "A Rare Interview With Frank Miller: 'Dark Knight,' the Unmade Darren Aronofsky Batman Movie, and Donald Trump."

The awards will be handed out June 25 at a ceremony at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles. Also at the ceremony, Andrea Mitchell will be honored with the Joseph M. Quinn Award for Lifetime Achievement, Jake Tapper with the Presidents Award for Impact on Media and Daniel Berehulak with the Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity. A complete list of finalists can be found here.

THR's nominations come on the heels of a Daytime Emmy nom for its roundtable series and its fourth consecutive National Magazine Award nomination for general excellence.

comments powered by Disqus