Hollywood Reporter Replaces Variety as 'Night Before' Oscars Fundraiser Sponsor

Jeffery Katzenberg Nominees Night - H 2013
Chris Pizzello/AP Images

Jeffery Katzenberg Nominees Night - H 2013

Jeffrey Katzenberg's private, star-studded event, benefiting the Motion Picture and Television Fund, will be Feb. 23 at the Beverly Hills Hotel

The Hollywood Reporter has come aboard as a presenting sponsor of the annual Night Before fundraiser benefiting the Motion Picture & Television Fund. THR replaces Variety as the sole media sponsor of the star-studded event, which has taken place during the weekend of the Academy Awards since 2003.   

This year's Night Before gala is set for Feb. 23 at the Beverly Hills Hotel. Other presenting sponsors of the 2013 event include L'Oreal (and sister brands Lancome and Kiehl's), Target, HP, McDonald's and Fiat. 

"The Night Before is the biggest fundraising event for MPTF, generating over $5 million annually. We are extremely grateful to THR for its very generous support as our newest presenting sponsor for 2013," says Ken Scherer, CEO of the MPTF Foundation. THR's involvement will bring a new excitement and attention to the evening while ensuring we will reach and possibly exceed our goal this year."

Money raised during the evening supports the services the MPTF provides to more than 60,000 members of the entertainment industry every year. Spearheaded by DreamWorks Animation CEO and MPTF chairman Jeffrey Katzenberg, the annual event has raised more than $50 million for the MPTF and its programs for members of the Hollywood community in need.

"I'm thrilled for The Hollywood Reporter to be part of a truly special event in the industry, one that mixes glamour and philanthropy on an unprecedented scale," says THR editorial director Janice Min. "What Jeffrey does, and the support he gets from the biggest names in town, is remarkable."

"The Motion Picture & TV Fund has been taking care of its own for over 90 years. This is a wonderful opportunity for The Hollywood Reporter to continue its partnership with with MPTF and give back to the community," adds Lynne Segall, THR's publisher and senior vice president.

This year's host committee includes:

Amy Adams & Darren LeGallo, Jennifer Aniston & Justin Theroux, Jessica Biel & Justin Timberlake, Tanya Hayden Black & Jack Black, Kate Capshaw & Steven Spielberg, George Clooney, Bradley Cooper, Tom Cruise, Viola Davis & Julius Tennon, Daniel Day-Lewis, Cameron Diaz, Susan Downey & Robert Downey Jr., Jamie Foxx, Deborra-Lee Furness & Hugh Jackman, Jennifer Garner & Ben Affleck, Anne Hathaway & Adam Shulman, Jada Pinkett Smith & Will Smith, Octavia Spencer, Emma Stone, Christine Taylor & Ben Stiller, Pauletta & Denzel Washington, Rita Wilson & Tom Hanks, Reese Witherspoon & Jim Toth, Robert Downey Jr. & Susan Downey.