Hollywood Reporter Tops SoCal Journalism Awards With 34 Nominations

2013 Issue 17: Sofia Coppola
Ruven Afanador

The Oscar-winning director is back on the Croisette with "The Bling Ring," seven years after "Marie Antoinette" famously was booed. Now the one-time "it" girl is opening up at last about filmmaking, her father, her first marriage and the childhood tragedy that still haunts her.

THR Cover: Sofia Coppola: The Trials, Tears and Talent

PHOTOS: Sofia Coppola: The Trials, Tears and Talent of 'The Bling Ring' Director

THR.com gets a best website nod, while Matthew Belloni and Gary Baum are nominated for journalist of the year and Lacey Rose is in contention for entertainment journalist of the year.

The Hollywood Reporter has been honored with 34 nominations -- more than any other news organization -- by the Los Angeles Press Club's 55th Southern California Journalism Awards.

Executive editor Matthew Belloni and senior writer Gary Baum have been nominated for print journalist of the year (over 50,000 circulation). This marks the second consecutive nomination for Belloni in the category.

Television editor Lacey Rose was nominated for entertainment journalist of the year.

Meanwhile, The Hollywood Reporter's online home, THR.com, was nominated for best website, news organization -- an award it took home last year.

Belloni also received a nomination in the entertainment news or feature category for "The War on Leno." Also nominated in the same category was "The New A-List," by executive editor, features Stephen Galloway, editor-at-large Kim Masters, senior film writers Borys Kit and Pamela McClintock, film reporter Tatiana Siegel, Lacey Rose, contributing writer Rebecca Sun and international correspondent Scott Roxborough. Masters also nabbed an entertainment news nomination for her story "Sources: NBC Discussing Jay Leno Exit Plan," as well as three additional nominations for her work on KCRW.

Tim Goodman, THR's chief TV critic, was nominated in the category of entertainment reviews/criticism/column for his body of work, while film editor Gregg Kilday was cited for best feature/commentary under 1,000 words for "So What's Wrong With Oscar Voters Being Old?" Siegel scored a feature/commentary nomination over 1,000 words for "Revenge of the Over-40 Actress."

Also nominated in the writing categories was Seth Abramovitch, whose "Sinful Synergy: How the Cronut Seduced America" landed a spot in the feature category. THR.com deputy editor Kimberly Nordyke was nominated in the entertainment feature category for "From 'The Bible' to the Amish, Why Religion Is Hot on Cable," and Mike Barnes, managing editor, daily, was nominated in the obituary category for his piece on film critic Roger Ebert. Galloway's “Pat Kingsley on the Record” earned a personality profile nomination.

Two of THR's blogs will compete in the blog, individual category: last year's winner THR ESQ., edited by Belloni and senior editor Eriq Gardner; and The Race, from awards analyst Scott Feinberg.

Creative director Shanti Marlar, design director Peter B. Cury and the THR design team were nominated for best design for their work on the 2013 Cannes Issue. Baum was nominated twice in the news investigative category for his magazine pieces "No Animals Were Harmed," and "Has An A-List Hollywood Rehab Gone Off The Deep End?"

Photo and video director Jennifer Laski and photographer Joe Pugliese were cited for best sports photo for their work with Los Angeles Dodgers right fielder Yasiel Puig. The pair were also nominated in the feature photo category for photographing Oscar-winning actor Sidney Poitier with his two youngest daughters and granddaughter. Jennifer Laski was also nominated in the feature photo category along with photo editor-at-large Jenny Sargent and photographer Art Streiber for their portrait of Jennifer Lopez with her stylists Rob Zangardi and Mariel Haenn. Photographer Miller Mobley scored a portrait nomination for shooting the stars of Duck Dynasty for THR's 2013 Rule Breakers issue.

In the entertainment photo category, Laski, Marlar and photographer Austin Hargrave received nominations for their Ricky Gervais cover shoot, while Laski was nominated in the same category alongside deputy photo editor Carrie Smith and photographer Ruven Afanador for THR's actor roundtable. Meanwhile, Smith, Sargent, and Laski were nominated in the photo essay category for their Emmy Icons work.

In the television/video categories, THR landed seven nominations, including Raphael Laski's mention in the videographer category.

THR also was nominated twice in the personality profile (video) category: Video producer Stephanie Fischette and Jennifer Laski were cited for “Why Ricky Gervais Went Nice for Netflix"; they will compete against themselves and lead video editor Victor Klaus for “Kelly Ripa and Michael Strahan Talk ‘Chemistry’ During the New York Power List Photo Shoot."

THR also scored two noms in the documentary category: one for "Cannes Confidential: An Insider’s Guide to Luxury Gifting Suites," by Fischette, senior style writer Merle Ginsberg, senior video editor Tess Gomet, Jennifer Laski and Raphael Laski; and the other for "Emmy Icons: Hank Azaria on Bringing 'Simpsons' Bartender Moe to Life," by Fischette, Jennifer Laski and video editor Brian Rovanpera.

THR's Actress Roundtable was nominated in the feature documentary category, with Galloway, Jennifer Laski, Fischette, Raphael Laski, and Belloni being cited.

Rovanpera, Raphael Laski, Fischette and Jennifer Laski also earned an entertainment news or feature nomination for their video ”Comic-Con: The Cast of NTSF: SD:SUV On Fighting Terrorism.”

"Emmy Icons 2014 Roundtable," by senior editor Stacey Wilson, Jennifer Laski and Smith, landed a nomination for best multimedia package.

The 56th SoCal Journalism Awards will be handed out at a gala ceremony, emceed by actor Charles Shaughnessy, on Sunday, June 29, at The Millennium Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles. The L.A. Press Club noted that there were a "record number of entries" this year.

Meanwhile, the 2014 honorees at the ceremony will be Ann Curry, NBC; Maria Shriver, The Shriver Report; Khaled Abu Toameh, Jerusalem Post; and Michael Bloomberg and Matthew Winkler, Bloomberg News.