Hollywood Reporter Tops SoCal Journalism Awards With 14 Wins

Dec. 23, 2016-Jan. 6, 2017
Austin Hargrave

Lesley Goldberg was named online journalist of the year, while "The Race" and "THR Esq." were honored as best blog in their respective categories.

The Hollywood Reporter took home the most awards at Sunday night's Southern California Journalism Awards, winning a total of 14, including online journalist of the year for Lesley Goldberg and best blog honors for "The Race" and "THR Esq."

The best blog awards were presented to Scott Feinberg (best individual blog) for "The Race" and Eriq Gardner and Ashley Cullins (best group blog) for "THR Esq." The awards were handed out at a gala ceremony held at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles.

Elsewhere, Feinberg also won best sports news/feature/commentary for "Mike Francesa, King of New York Sports Radio for 30 Years, Prepares to Abdicate His Throne."

Gary Baum and Scott Johnson were named winners in the best entertainment news or feature category for "Bang Bang! Hollywood and Guns."

In the personality profile category for film/TV, Chris Gardner won for "The Last Living Silent Star," about former child actress Baby Peggy. For best personality profile (politics/business/the arts), Patrick Brzeski won for "Wang Jianlin: The Chairman Will See You Now."

In the commentary (magazines) category, THR contributing editor Michael Wolff won for "Ringside With Steve Bannon at Trump Tower as the President-Elect's Strategist Plots 'An Entirely New Political Movement.'"

Seth Abramovitch won best feature under 1,000 words for "Like That, Salma Hayek Killed My Hard-On," in which DJ Paul, of Oscar-winning group Three 6 Mafia, recounts his big night at his first Academy Awards.

In the criticism categories, Jon Frosch won the award in best TV/film for "Looking The Movie: Outfest Review," while David Rooney won in the theater/performing arts category for "'Long Day's Journey Into Night': Theater Review."

"Creative Until You Die" — focusing on a group of nonagenarians, from Betty White to Dick Van Dyke, still actively working — won best multimedia package for Jennifer Laski, Peter Flax, Stephanie Fischette, Natalie Heltzel and Martin Schoeller.

Heltzel, Victor Klaus and Fischette also won for best personality profile/interview in the TV categories for "A Rare Interview With Frank Miller: 'Dark Knight,' the Unmade Darren Aronofsky Batman Movie, and Donald Trump."

On the photo side, Shanti Marlar, Laski, Carrie Smith, Kate Pappa and We Are the Rhoads won best portrait for their work with Rachel McAdams.

Also at the ceremony, Harvey Weinstein accepted the inaugural Truthteller Award via video on behalf of himself and Shawn "Jay Z" Carter; Katy Tur presented Andrea Mitchell with the Joseph M. Quinn Award for Lifetime Achievement; Conan O'Brien presented Jake Tapper with the Presidents Award for Impact on Media; and Daniel Berehulak received the Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity.

The Hollywood Reporter's wins come on the heels of a record-breaking month for THR.com in May, with 21.5 million unique monthly visitors, representing a 13 percent increase over April and a 50 percent year-over-year rise, according to comScore.

It also follows THR's fourth consecutive nomination for a National Magazine Award in 2017 and a Daytime Emmy nomination for its Close Up With The Hollywood Reporter SundanceTV series, which returned Sunday.