Hollywood Reporter Tops National Arts and Entertainment Journalism Honors With 17 Wins, Best Website Honor

THR_SNL_9978_09_1805_SPLASH - THR - H 2017
Joe Pugliese

THR's Gary Baum also won journalist of the year, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar took home best columnist and David Rooney won for best theater critic at the awards gala, held Sunday night in Los Angeles.

The Hollywood Reporter topped the 10th annual National Arts and Journalism Awards with 17 wins, including best website and journalist of the year for Gary Baum. The Los Angeles Press Club's Dec. 3 gala took place Sunday night at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.

Additionally, David Rooney won for best theater critic, and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar won for best columnist. Abdul-Jabbar was also honored with the Legend Award at the annual event.

"Locked and Loaded: The Gun Industry's Lucrative Relationship with Hollywood" took home awards in several categories, including best multimedia package (Victoria McKillop, Jennifer Laski, Scott Johnson, Ryan Heraly and Baum), best page layout (Peter Cury and Shanti Marlar) and best documentary or special program, short (Baum, Johnson, Laski, Stephanie Fischette and McKillop). 

Seth Abramovitch also won in the best industry/arts investigative story, any media platform category for "Friars Club Under Fire: Inside a Showbiz Institution." Meanwhile, Lesley Goldberg's "It's a Bird, It’s a Plane, It’s...$100,000, Easy!" was feted for best arts or entertainment related business story, any media platform.

In the obituary/appreciate category, THR scored a win: Kim Masters for "Brad Grey."

In the print categories, celebrity news category, Baum also won for "DiCaprio, Brando and the Missing Oscar."

Abramovitch also took home the award for best industry/arts feature, more than 1,000 words, TV/Film, for "Little People, Big Woes." In best industry/arts feature, less than 1,000 words, Baum and Alex Ritman's "How Many Bottles of Champagne Does It Take to Save the Planet?" won for best celebrity feature over 1,000 words. 

For humor writing, arts or entertainment, Aaron Couch, Kimberly Nordyke and Braden Nordyke won for “A 7-Year-Old's Hilarious (and Heartbreaking) Review of 'Empire Strikes Back.'”

In the radio/podcasts category, Scott Feinberg won for "'Awards Chatter' Podcast — Oprah Winfrey ('The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks' & 'Queen Sugar')."

THR also nabbed a win for best journalistic use of social media by an organization to tell or enhance a story: Jennifer Liles, Christina Schoellkopf, Ben Svetkey, Tom Seeley and Rett Alcott for "#TrumpMyHand."

THR also landed a win in the photography categories: "Billy Bush" (Laski, Marlar, Carrie Smith and Frank W. Ockenfels) for best news photo.