Honorary Oscars to be announced Wednesday

AMPAS chose recipients Tuesday night

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences met Tuesday night to choose the recipients of its honorary awards -- the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Academy Award -- which will be presented at the Governors Awards on Nov. 13.

Once the recipients are notified, their names will be announced Wednesday morning.

The Academy selects up to four individuals each year for the special honors.

The Thalberg is given to a producer for his or her body of work. The Hersholt recognizes charitable and humanitarian work. Honorary Academy Awards are given in recognition of an entire career.

Traditionally, the honorary trophies were handed out during the Oscar broadcast, but last year for the first time, the Academy established a separate, non-televised ceremony, an informal and collegial banquet that was held in the Grand Ballroom of the Hollywood & Highland Center.

Lauren Bacall, director-producer Roger Corman and Gordon Willis were last year's recipients of Honorary Awards. The Thalberg went to producer John Calley.

More awards coverage  
While the recipients were acknowledged during the subsequent Academy Awards show in March, the move was designed to save airtime during the Oscarcast. It also allowed the Academy to spend more time lavishing praise on the honorary winners at the separate awards presentation, which harkened back to the spirit of the original Oscar dinners.

The Hersholt and Honorary Awards are Oscar statuettes. The Thalberg is a bust of its namesake.

This year's Governors Awards, which will be produced by former Academy president Sid Ganis, will be held Nov. 13.
comments powered by Disqus