How to Watch the Winter Olympics

Harry How/Getty Images

The 2018 Games will kick off on Feb. 9 with an opening ceremony in Pyeongchang, South Korea.

The Winter Olympics kick off Friday (Feb. 9) with an exciting opening ceremony, designed to introduce the world to the host country and the vibrant traditions they hold. This year’s Games will take place in Pyeongchang, South Korea. Sports fans who traveled to see the show will battle freezing temperatures in the roof-less stadium. For those passionate about the games, but not passionate enough to endure the cold, here's how to watch the opening ceremony and subsequent events, live.

The opening ceremony takes place at 8 p.m. local time in South Korea. With the time difference, U.S. fans who want to watch the event live will have to tune in at 6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT. Still you can catch all of the pageantry, sans NBC commentary, as it unfolds via NBCOlympics.com or the NBC Sports app — available on iOS, Roku, Amazon Fire, Chromecast and Xbox — using your cable provider login.

Television traditionalists or those who don't want to crawl out of bed early Friday morning can catch the ceremony and the Parade of Nations at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT on NBC’s TV channel. This year’s NBC coverage is set to last three hours, with Katie Couric and Mike Tirico hosting. 

Several online live TV services will also carry NBC’s coverage of the Olympics. Hulu Live features NBC, NBC Sports Network, USA and CNBC. Playstation Vue, DirecTV Now, Sling TV and YouTube TV all have packs that include the NBC networks.  

Coverage of the Olympic Games actually begins on NBCSN starting Feb. 7 and 8, with events in alpine skiing, figure skating, luge, curling, freestyle skiing, and ski jumping.

Meanwhile, as the games roll on, NBC will provide primetime coverage, including contributions from Saturday Night Live's Leslie Jones. NBC Sports Network will air 369 hours of coverage, including live events. 

The Games end on Feb. 25 after the final medals in women’s cross country are given out. The closing ceremony airs that night on NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT, and can be caught live online hours earlier, at 6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT, just like with the opening ceremony.

For a full TV schedule of the 2018 Olympic Games, visit NBCOlympics.com.

comments powered by Disqus