HPA nominees announced

Hollywood Post Alliance's third annual awards

The films "Iron Man" and "Into the Wild" and the TV series "Pushing Daisies" received two nominations each for the Hollywood Post Alliance's third annual HPA Awards, which were announced Tuesday. The awards will be held on Nov. 6 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

The awards, launched in 2006, acknowledge creative and technical excellence in the art, science and craft of postproduction.

At the awards, dean of the USC School of Cinematic Arts Elizabeth M. Daley will receive the first Charles S. Swartz Award, which honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of postproduction.

The nominees for the HPA Awards are:

Outstanding color grading feature film in a DI process
"Iron Man"
Steven J. Scott (EFilm)
"Sweeney Todd"
Stefan Sonnenfeld
"Kite Runner"    
Mike Sowa (LaserPacific Media Corporation)
Outstanding color grading, television
"Pushing Daisies," "The Fun in Funerals"
Joe Hathaway (LaserPacific Media Corporation)
"ESPN: The Masters"
Siggy Ferstl (RIOT)
"Andromeda Strain," "Night 2: Part 1"
Mike Sowa (LaserPacific Media Corporation)

Outstanding Color Grading- Commercial
Travelers Insurance. "Delivery"
Sean Coleman (Company 3)
Farmers Help Point. "Drowned Circus"
Stefan Sonnenfeld (Company 3)
Jaguar. "XF Hush"
Alex Bickel (Outside Editorial)

Outstanding editing, feature film
"Iron Man"
Dan Lebental, A.C.E.
"Into the Wild"
Jay Cassidy, A.C.E.
"The Dark Knight"
Lee Smith, A.C.E.

Outstanding editing, television
"Mad Men," "Indian Summer"
David J. Siegel, A.C.E.
"Breaking Bad," "Pilot Episode"
Lynne Willingham, A.C.E. (Sony Pictures Entertainment)
"Pushing Daisies." "Pie-lette"
Stuart Bass, A.C.E.

Outstanding editing, commercial
American Express, "Airport Lounge"
Chris Franklin (Big Sky Editorial)
Jaguar. "XF Hush"
Neil Gust (Outside Editorial)
Audi, "Dream Cars"
Jeff Ferruzzo (Outside Editorial)

Outstanding audio post, feature film
Wylie Stateman and Harry Cohen (Soundelux) & Christopher Jenkins and Frank A. Montano (Universal Studios)
Ben Burtt (Pixar Animation Studios), Tom Myers, Michael Semanick and Matthew Wood (Skywalker Sound)
"Into the Wild"
Michael Minkler (Todd AO), Lora Hirschberg (Skywalker Sound) and Martin Hernandez (Ztrackz)

Outstanding audio post, television
"CSI: Crime Scene Investigation," "Cockroaches"
Mace Matiosian, Ruth Adelman, David Vanslyke, Bill Smith, Yuri Reese and Jivan Tahmizian (Todd-AO)
"John Adams," "Episode 3: Don't Tread on Me"
Marc Fishman and Tony Lamberti (Todd-AO) & Stephen Hunter Flick and Vanessa Lapato (Warner Brothers Post)
"R.L. Stine's The Haunting Hour Don't Think About It"
Sam Kaufmann and John Schell (Media City Sound)

Outstanding audio post, commercial
Samaritans, "Vectorscope"
Joe Mount (Wave Recording Studios)
Audi RS6, "Gymnast"
Tony Rapaccioli and Warren Hamilton (Wave Recording Studios and Tonic)
Playstation 3, "Universe"
Nathan Dubin (Margarita Mix Santa Monica)

Outstanding compositing, commercial
Dunkelziffer E.V., "Tentacle"
Jamie White, Toby Walton, Matt Burn and Nathan Kane (Absolute Post)
Pontiac, "Shwayze"
Patrick Poulatian and Robert Sethi (Brickyard VFX)
MasterCard Mini, "Mini"
Chris Franklin and Ryan Sears (Big Sky Editorial)