H'wood fest honors Affleck, Connelly


Oscar winners Ben Affleck and Jennifer Connelly along with "Hairspray" producers Neil Meron and Craig Zadan have joined the roster of talent to be honored at the 11th annual Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood Awards Gala Ceremony on Oct. 22 at the Beverly Hilton.

Affleck -- lauded for his directorial debut with "Gone, Baby, Gone" – will receive this year's Hollywood Breakthrough Director of the Year Award. He joins his brother and co-honoree Casey Affleck, whom he directed in the film, and who will accept the ceremony's Hollywood Breakthrough Actor of the Year Award.

Connelly, who won an Academy Award in 2002 for her role in Ron Howard's "A Beautiful Mind," is being honored with the Hollywood Supporting Actress of the Year Award. Connelly next stars in Terry George's upcoming "Reservation Road" and provides her voice in Shane Ackner's animated film "9." She also stars in the forthcoming "He's Just Not That Into You" with Scarlett Johansson, Jennifer Aniston and Ben Affleck.

"Hairspray" producers Meron and Zadan will receive the Hollywood Producers of the Year Award. They join the cast of "Hairspray" at the event, honored for ensemble acting. Besides the recent "Hairspray," their producing credits include the upcoming "The Bucket List" from Rob Reiner and "Chicago," which Rob Marshall directed in 2002.

The 11th annual Hollywood Film Festival and Hollywood Awards is presented by Starz Entertainment.