ICG honors 8 at Cine Gear Expo


International Cinematographers Guild Local 600 presented its Emerging Cinematographers Awards honorees during Cine Gear Expo, which concluded Sunday. Eight were selected from more than 70 short films submitted and judged by members of ICG. The honored cinematographers are Brian O'Carroll, "Cherry Bloom"; Christopher Johnson, "Common Practice"; Darren Genet, "Death Strip"; Tim Bellen, "Ed Meets His Maker"; Michael Alba, "History For Kids"; Hilda Mercado, "La Primavera"; Jozo Zovko, "The Morning Fog"; and Cameron Duncan, "Year of the Dog."

The short films will premiere Sept. 23 at the DGA Theater in Hollywood. "We want to encourage young filmmakers to strive for excellence and we can be justly proud of this year's award recipients," said ICG president and director of photography Steven Poster.