ICG reveals honorees

Films to be shown at Emerging Cinematographer Awards

The International Cinematographers Guild revealed its seven honorees whose short films will be showcased at this year's annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards.

The 2008 honorees were selected from 60 short films submitted by members of ICG, who are not yet rated as directors of photography, and judged by a panel of cinematographers. This year's films and honorees are: "Spring Cleaning," Layton Blaylock; "The 17th Man," Josh Ellis; "Jesus Cooks Me Breakfast," Rachael Levine; "Demption," Gerry O'Malley; "Noisemaker," Michael Svitak; "Para-Normal," Aaron Medick; and "Singularity," Eduardo Mayen.

The three runners- ups are: "Lola," Suad Kutlug; "Cruel Logic," James O'Keeffe; and "Love," Mark Williams.

ICG president Steven Poster says it is crucial that the leaders of today encourage and support the rising members so that they can become the leaders of tomorrow. "Every year ICG Local 600 has the privilege to honor the best of the new," he said. "We get to demonstrate the talents of seven exciting cinematographers."

The Emerging Cinematographer Awards will be held Sept. 21 at the DGA.