IDA Documentary Awards Nominees Revealed

O.J.: Made in America Still - H 2016
Courtesy of ESPN Films

O.J.: Made in America Still - H 2016

'O.J.: Made in America' and Ava DuVernay's '13th' are among the feature nominees.

Ava DuVernay’s 13th and Ezra Edelman’s O.J.: Made in America have both been nominated for the International Documentary Association’s 2016 IDA Documentary Awards — along with Kirsten Johnson’s Cameraperson, Gianfranco Rosi’s Fire at Sea, Raoul Peck’s I Am Not Your Negro and Josh Kriegman and Elyze Steinberg’s Weiner.

The best feature winner will be announced at the 32nd IDA Awards, recognizing the best in nonfiction filmmaking and set to take place Dec. 9 at Paramount Studios in Los Angeles.

Six short films were nominated as well. Cameraperson’s Johnson received a second nomination for The Above, about a military surveillance balloon. The other nominees are Maxim Pozdorovkin’s Clincica de Migrantes: Life Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness, about a volunteer-run clinic in south Philadelphia; Dan Krauss’ Extremis, about end-of-life decisions; Amy Nicholson’s Pickle; Billy Luther’s Red Lake, about a school shooting on a Native American reservation; and Orlando von Einsiedel’s The White Helmets, about volunteer workers in Syria’s civil war.

The winners of several special awards also were announced on Tuesday.

The Pare Lorentz Award, given to films that focus on environmental or social issues, will be given to Mehrdad Oskouei’s Starless Dreams, which tells the story of girls from a rehabilitation center for juvenile delinquents in Tehran.

The IDA Creative Recognition Awards, which honor excellence in cinematography, composing, editing and writing in documentary features, will be given to Fire at Sea for Gianfranco Rosi’s cinematography; Cameraperson for Nels Bangerter’s editing; The Bad Kids for Jacaszek’s music; and I Am Not Your Negro for Peck and James Baldwin’s writing.

As previously announced, the IDA also will honor Lyn and Norman Lear, with its Amicus Award; Stanley Nelson, with its Career Achievement Award; Ally Derks, with its Pioneer Award, and Nanfu Wang, with its Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award.

A complete list of honorees and nominees follows:

Career Achievement Award
Stanley Nelson           

Pioneer Award
Ally Derks

Amicus Award
Norman and Lyn Lear

Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award sponsored by the Archibald Family Foundation
Nanfu Wang

Best Feature Award
Director and Producer: Ava DuVernay
Producers: Spencer Averick and Howard Barish

Director and Producer: Kirsten Johnson
Producer: Marilyn Ness
Janus Films

Fire at Sea
Director and Producer: Gianfranco Rosi
Producers: Paolo Del Brocco, Roberto Ciccutto, Camille Laemle, Serge Lalou, Donatella Palermo, Olivier Pere and Martine Saada
Kino Lorber

I Am Not Your Negro
Director and Producer: Raoul Peck
Producers: Remi Grellety and Hébert Peck
Magnolia Pictures

O.J.: Made in America
Director: Ezra Edelman
Producers: Deirdre Fenton, Libby Geist, Nina Krstic, Erin Leyden, Tamara Rosenberg, Connor Schell and Caroline Waterlow

Directors and Producers: Josh Kriegman and Elyse Steinberg
Sundance Selects, Showtime Documentary Film

Best Short Award
The Above
Director: Kirsten Johnson
Producer: Marilyn Ness
Field of Vision

Clinica De Migrantes : Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness
Director: Maxim Pozdorovkin
Producer: Jenny Lim

Director and Producer: Dan Krauss
f/8 Filmworks Ltd, Netflix

Director and Producer: Amy Nicholson
Myrtle & Olive, Oscilloscope

Red Lake
Director and Producer: Billy Luther
Producers: Fenton Bailey and Randy Barbato
World of Wonder Productions

The White Helmets
Director: Orlando von Einsiedel
Producer: Joanna Natasegara

Pare Lorentz Award
Starless Dreams
Director: Mehrdad Oskouei
The Cinema Guild

Creative Recognition Award Winners

Best Cinematography
Fire at Sea
Cinematography by: Gianfranco Rosi
Kino Lorber

Best Editing
Edited by: Nels Bangerter
Janus Films

Best Writing
I Am Not Your Negro
Written by: James Baldwin and Raoul Peck
Magnolia Pictures

Best Music
The Bad Kids
Original Score by: Jacaszek
FilmRise, ITVS

ABC News VideoSource Award
Director: Ava DuVernay

I Am Not Your Negro
Director: Raoul Peck
Magnolia Pictures

The Lovers and the Despot
Director: Ross Adam and Robert Cannan
Magnolia Pictures

Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise
Directors: Bob Hercules and Rita Coburn Whack
PBS, American Masters

Norman Lear: Just Another Version of You
Directors: Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady
Loki Films, Thirteen/WNET, Music Box Films, PBS, American Masters

Best Curated Series Award
BBC Storyville
Executive Producer: Nick Fraser

DR2 Dokumania
Executive Producer: Mette Hoffmann Meyer

Independent Lens
Executive Producers: Sally Jo Fifer and Lois Vossen

Pacific Heartbeat
Executive Producers: Leanne Ferrer and Leslie Wilcox
American Public Television, Pacific Islanders in Communications

Executive Producers: Justine Nagan and Chris White

Best Limited Series Award
Executive Producers: Sheri Salata, David Shadrack Smith, Jonathan Sinclair and Oprah Winfrey
OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network

Executive Producers: Alex Gibney, Caroline Suh, Michael Pollan and Stacey Offman

The Circus: Inside the Greatest Political Show on Earth
Executive Producers: Scott Boggins, Ken Druckerman, Mark Halperin, John Heilemann, Mark McKinnon and Banks Tarver
Co-Executive Producers: Ted Bourne and Mary Robertson

Making a Murderer
Executive Producers: Moira Demos and Laura Ricciardi

Streets of Compton
Executive Producers: Brad Abramson, Elaine Frontain Bryant, Mark Ford, The Game, Alan Grunblatt, Cash "Wack 100" Jones, Tara Long, Kevin Lopez, John Morayniss and Shelly Tatro
Entertainment One Reality Productions, Creature Films for A&E

Best Episodic Series Award
Chef’s Table
Executive Producers: David Gelb, Andrew Fried, Dane Lillegard, Brian McGinn and Matthew Weaver

The First 48
Executive Producers: Elaine Frontain Bryant, Laura Fleury, John X. Kim, Alexis Robie and Peter Tarshis
Co-Executive Producers: Joey Grossfield and Maija Norris

Last Chance U
Executive Producers: Joe LaBracion and Greg Whiteley

United Shades of America
Executive Producers: W. Kamau Bell, Jimmy Fox, Eli Holzman, Stephen Lambert, Star Price and Layla Smith
All3Media America, CNN Original Series, Objective Productions USA

Woman With Gloria Steinem
Executive Producers: Spike Jonze, Nomi Ernst Leidner, Eddy Moretti, Amy Richards, Shane Smith, Gloria Steinem and Ariel Wengroff
VICE Media for Viceland

Best Shortform Series Award
30:30 Shorts
Executive Producers: John Dahl, Libby Geist and Connor Schell

Children Deported
Executive Producer: Christer Fasmer

Field of Vision
Executive Producers: Charlotte Cook, Laura Poitras and AJ Schnack
Field of Vision

Executive Producers: Lisa Leingang, Adam Pincus and AJ Schnack

The New York Times Op-Docs
Executive Producer: Kathleen Lingo
The New York Times

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award
4.1 Miles
Director: Daphne Matziaraki
UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism

The Earth Did Not Speak
Director and Producer: Javier Briones
San Francisco State University

How History May Come
Director: Olesya Mazur
Sydney Film School

My Life as a Film – How My Father Tried to Capture Happiness
Director: Eva Vitija
Producers: Daniel Howald and Anita Wasser
Zurich University of the Arts

Transit Zone
Director: Frederik Subei
Edinburgh College of Art