'The Imitation Game' Writers Win USC Scripter Award

The imitation game Still 5 - H 2015
Courtesy of The Weinstein Company

The imitation game Still 5 - H 2015

The award is presented by USC Libraries.

The writers behind The Imitation Game were honored with the USC Scripter Award in a ceremony Saturday night.

The Imitation Game screenwriter Graham Moore adated his screenplay from Andrew Hodges' book Alan Turing: The Enigma. He was on hand to accept the award for his screenplay about the World War II British code breaker, played by Benedict Cumberbatch.

See more Hollywood's 100 Favorite Films

"If you want to write for the screen, there's this actor. It turns out anything you write it sounds very witty and smart and brilliant," said Moore. "His name is — it's weird to say — it's Benedict Cumberbatch. Look him up. I swear to God, that kid is going places."

He went on to pay homage Turing himself, who was persecuted by his own government for his homosexuality.

"Alan Turing never got to stand on a stage and hear people applaud for his name, and I do right now," said Moore. "That is a profound injustice. All I can do is say that because of thisI can spend the rest of my life endeavoring to repair it. So this is for Alan."

Presented by USC Libraries, the annual award goes to the screenwriters behind the year's "most accomplished cinematic adaptations" and the authors of the "written work upon which the screenplay is based."

The other nominees included Gone Girl, adapted by Gillian Flynn from her novel of the same name;  Inherent Vice, adapted by Paul Thomas Anderson from Thomas Pynchon's novel of the same name; The Theory of Everything, adapted by Anthony McCarten from Jane Hawking's Traveling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen;  and Wild, adapted by Nick Hornby from Cheryl Strayed's memoir of the same name.

The winners were announced at a black-tie dinner ceremony at USC's historical Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. Helen Mirren and Taylor Hackford served as honorary chairs of the event.

Scripter award winners have gone on to win the best adapted screenplay Oscar ten times over the past 26 years the Scripter has been handed out. Those films are Schindler's List (1993), Sense and Sensibility (1995), L.A. Confidential (1997), A Beautiful Mind (2001), No Country for Old Men (2007), Slumdog Millionaire (2008), The Social Network (2010), The Descendants (2011), Argo (2012) and 12 Years a Slave (2013).