'The Imitation Game' Tops Capri, Hollywood Film Festival

The Imitation Game - H 2014

The Imitation Game - H 2014

Best actor went to 'Mr. Turner's' Timothy Spall while Jennifer Aniston and Amy Adams tied for best actress

Alan Turing biopic The Imitation Game won the best picture award at the 2014 Capri, Hollywood International Film Festival, while Mr. Turner's Timothy Spall was honored with the best actor award and Jennifer Aniston and Amy Adams tied for best actress.

At the 19th annual event, The Weinstein Co.'s The Imitation Game, starring Benedict? Cumberbatch as the mathematical genius, also nabbed the best director award for Morten Tyldum. The Imitation Game had its Italian premiere at the fest.

"This is an extraordinary ?work, an almost historical document narrating an unknown story, a tribute to?a visionary genius who was persecuted and to whom we owe freedom in Europe," said fest producer Pascal Vicedomini. ??

Read more Oscars: 39 Screenplays That Matter

Ellar Coltrane of Boyhood and Gugu Mbarta Raw of Beyond the Lights were honored with the rising stars award, and best foreign film went to Ida, the Polish film directed by Pawel Pawlikowski. The Italian American Icon Award was presented to American Hustle director David O.?Russell; the Lifetime Achievement Award went to English? actress Brenda Blethyn; The Capri Legend Award to the poet of Italian music ?Francesco De Gregori and the Educational Award was won by Roberto Faenza's? Holocaust-centered movie Anita B.

Other honors included:
•    Visionary Award - Alejandro Gonzales Inarritu's Birdman
•    Family Award - Boyhood dir.  Richard Linklater.
•    Animated Movie of the Year - Big Hero 6
•    Breakout Actors - Ryan Gage (The Hobbit) and Eline Powell (Quartet)
•    Cult Awards to popular Italian actor Luca Zingaretti and to Nastassja Kinsky
•    Mediterranean Awards to Marco D'Amore, star of the TV series Gomorra, and to Moran Atias (Third Person)
•    European Film of the Year  - Human Capital dir. Paolo Virzi
•    Best European Movie - L'arte della felicità dir. Alessandro Rak
•    Italian Film of the Year - Marco Martone's Leopardi