Independent Spirit Awards: 'Land Ho!' Wins John Cassavetes Award

The awards show is being co-hosted by Fred Armisen and Kristen Bell.

At the Independent Spirit Awards, Land Ho! from Aaron Katz and Martha Stephens won the John Cassavetes Award.

The award is given to best feature made for under $500,000. Land Ho! beat out fellow nominees Jeremy Saulnier for Blue Ruin, Eliza Hittman for It Felt Like Love,  Dave Boyle for Man From Reno and Chris Mason Johnson for Test to take home the honor.

The Independent Spirit Awards honors exclusively independent films, bringing together top Hollywood talent and independent filmmakers. Fred Armisen and Kristen Bell are co-hosting the 30th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards, which is being broadcast live on IFC.