Indie juries honor eclectic mix of films

'A Family,' 'Crab Trap,' 'Winter's Bone' win prizes

BERLIN -- The independent juries judging the line-up for the 60th Berlin International Film Festival spread the joy far and wide this year, picking an eclectic mix of titles from across all the Berlinale sections.

The FIPRESCI association of international film critics honored Danish drama "A Family" from director Pernille Fischer Christensen as the best film in competition this year. FIPRESCI picked Japanese feature "Parade" from Isao Yukisada as the best Panorama title and Oscar Ruiz Navia's "Crab Trap" as the top film running in the Forum sidebar.

More Berlin coverage  

The Prize of the Guild of German Art House Cinemas went to "Shahada," the student film from first-timer Burhan Quarbani, which was a surprise addition to the Berlinale competition while the International Confederation of Art House Cinemas honored Jan Hrebejk's "Kawasaki's Rose" with its Panorama prize. Debra Granik's Sundance hit "Winter's Bone" won the Confederation's prize for best Forum film.

Hrebejk's Czech period drama also picked up the Panorama honor from the  Ecumenical jury. The Ecumenical competition honor went to "Honey" from Turkish director Semih Kaplanoglu and Nicolas Wadimoff's "Still Alive in Gaza" won the Forum prize.

Other Forum winners included Pietro Marcello's transsexual documentary cum love story "The Mouth of the Wolf" which took the Caligari Film Prize; and "Au revoir Taipei," a coming-of-age tale set in the Taiwanese capital from U.S. Director Arvin Chen, which won the NETPAC prize for best Asian entry in the Forum.

Lisa Cholodenko's crowd pleaser "The Kids Are All Right" starring Julianne Moore and Annette Bening as a same-sex couple with two children, won the Teddy Queer Film Award for best feature, while Pietro Marcello's "The Mouth of the Wolf" won the best documentary Teddy and the Jake Yuzna's "Open" took the Jury prize.

The Femina Film Prize honoring the work of female film technicians  went to Reinhild Blaschke for her production design in Thomas Arslan's Forum entry "In the Shadows."

The Peace Film Award went to "Son of Babylon" by director Mohamed Al-Daradji which also won the inaugural Amnesty International Film Prize, an honor it shared with UK/Brazilian documentary "Waste Land."

Hans Petter Moland's slow-burning crime-comedy "A Somewhat Gentle Man" won the readers award of Berlin newspaper the Morgenpost, competitor the Tagesspiegel honored Debra Granik's "Winter's Bone" and gay newspaper the Siegessaule presented its ELSE trophy to Michael Stock's "Postcard To Daddy."