Ink's swell

The WGA honors its own at its annual awards ceremony.

The creative clout and special achievements of Hollywood scribes will take center stage Sunday when the 2007 Writers Guild Awards take place simultaneously at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Century City and the Millennium Broadway Hotel in New York.

"We're both doing the same show but -- because of time and location -- doing them separately," WGA East president Chris Albers explains. "And we're both trying to do the same thing: celebrate the year in writing."

"We're making this as very writer-oriented a presentation as possible," WGA West president Patric Verrone adds, referring to the ceremonies, which will include a bevy of writer-directors and other creative hyphenates as presenters, with just a handful of celebrity performers in the mix.

Tina Fey, former head writer and cast member on NBC's "Saturday Night Live" (and now attached to the network's "30 Rock") is hosting the festivities in New York, with comedian Robert Wuhl presiding in Los Angeles.

Among the presenters expected at the Los Angeles ceremony are J.J. Abrams, Deborah R. Baron, Steve Carell, Glen Charles & Les Charles, Marc Cherry, Diane English, Spike Feresten, Ben Garant & Thomas Lennon, David Milch, Aaron Sorkin, Robert Towne and Steven Zaillian. Matthew Broderick and Sarah Jessica Parker will be on hand to do the honors in New York.

In addition to the various competition categories, the WGA will honor
several scripters with special awards. Those include:

* Author Joan Didion will receive the WGA East's Evelyn F. Burkey Award for "contributions that have brought honor and dignity to writers everywhere."

* Writer-producer John Wells will be honored with the Paddy Chayefsky Television Laurel for "advancing the literature of television and (making) outstanding contributions to the profession of television writer."

* Screenwriter Robert Benton will receive the Screen Laurel Award for "advancing the literature of the motion picture and (making) contributions to the profession of the screenwriter."

* TV producer Lorne Michaels will be feted with the WGA East Herb Sargent Award for Comedy Excellence.

* Hollywood and Broadway comedy writer Andrew Bergman will receive the WGA East's Ian McLellan Hunter Award for Lifetime Achievement in Writing.

* Film and TV writer Larry Gelbart will receive the WGAW's Valentine Davies Award for contributions to the industry and community.

* The late film and TV writer Daryl G. Nickens will be honored with the Morgan Cox Honorary Service Award for "vital ideas (and) personal sacrifice."

* Additionally, WGAE secretary-treasurer Gail Lee has been selected to receive the Richard B. Jablow Award for devoted service to the guild.

United front: WGA offices working together
Dialogue: Patric Verrone & Chris Albers
Ink swell: WGA honors its own