Inside the White House Correspondents' Dinner

Evan Agostini/Invision/AP
Lupita Nyong'o

UPDATED: Politicos such as L.A. Mayor Eric Garcetti mingle with Hollywood elites including Harvey Weinstein and Lupita Nyong'o at the black-tie event.

WASHINGTON -- President Barack Obama is being joined by journalists, politicos and Hollywood stars at the annual dinner of the White House Correspondents' Association.

Harvey Weinstein, Lupita Nyong'o, Katie Couric, Barbara Walters, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Arianna Huffington, Mindy Kaling, Jesse Tyler Ferguson and Savannah Guthrie are among the Hollywood fixtures who have descended upon the nation's capital for the event.

Diane Lane, Jessica Simpson, Lizzy Caplan, Brad Paisley, Katharine McPhee, Wolf Blitzer, Cynthia Nixon, Rose McGowan, Taylor Schilling, Dax Shepard, John Leguizamo and Rick Springfield have also joined first lady Michelle Obama and the president at the black-tie event at the Washington Hilton Hotel.

PHOTOS: White House Correspondents' Dinner: Hollywood Arrives in D.C.

Keeping with the political theme, Scandal stars Tony Goldwyn, Bellamy Young, Guillermo Diaz, Dan Bucatinsky and Katie Lowes also are on the scene.

This post will be updated with the latest things seen and heard. will provide video highlights from Joel McHale's remarks.

Find the complete list of who is sitting where at the bottom of the post.

6:30 p.m. ET

There's a long line to get into the main dining room. People are comparing notes on which celebrities they've seen (mostly castmembers from politically themed shows Veep and House of Cards.)

6:38 p.m. ET

Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti has arrived. He pauses to talk with the Winklevoss twins, who raised money for his election. The mayor is sitting at the Washington Post table. Armie Hammer, who played the twins in The Social Network, is also at the dinner.

6:50 p.m. ET

Sherry Lansing and William Friedkin roll into the event.

7 p.m. ET

The president and first lady are arriving on the scene. Bystanders cheer, and some attempt selfies as the motorcade drives by on Connecticut Avenue.

7:18 p.m.

Sofia Vergara breezes through with a tall male escort who keeps people with cellphone cameras at bay.

7:23 p.m. ET

Duck Dynasty's Willie Robertson sports a trademark USA bandana along with his dinner attire. He stops to pose for photos with Katie Couric.

7:45 p.m. ET

Oscar winner Lupita Nyong'o just arrived in a black-and-white strapless Oscar de la Renta gown.

7:53 p.m. ET

Arrested Development's elder statesman Jeffrey Tambor stops to pose for photos.

9: 00 p.m. ET

Joel McHale chats at the head table with the first lady.

9:05 p.m.

Seattle Seahawks star Richard Sherman approaches the head table to greet the president.

9:41 p.m. ET

The mingling between dinner and dessert has begun. Willie Robertson is very busy signing autographs. CNN's Jeff Zucker is chatting with New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie and Arianna Huffington just kissed Attorney General Eric Holder on both cheeks.

Who is sitting where:


Lupita Nyong’o, actress

Steve McQueen, director

Alfonso Cuarón, director

Travis Kalanick, CEO of Uber

Armie Hammer, actor

Elizabeth Chambers, actress

Patrick Duffy, actor


The Huffington Post:

Arianna Huffington, president of The Huffington Post

Richard Sherman, Seattle Seahawks

Ashley Moss, Richard Sherman’s girlfriend

Kristen Bell, actress

Dax Shepard, actor

Sylvia Burwell, Secretary of Health and Human Services

Stephen Burwell, husband of Sylvia Burwell

Federica Marchionni, president of Dolce & Gabbana

Rep. Steve Israel (D-N.Y.)

Dan Pfeiffer, Senior Adviser to President Barack Obama

Denise Morrison, CEO of Campbell Soup Company

Questlove, musician (the Roots)

Anna Kendrick, actress

Mick Sullivan, talent agent


Thomson Reuters:

Ron Dermer, the United States Ambassador to Israel

Andrew Luck, Indianapolis Colts 

Jack O’Connell, actor

Darren Criss, actor

Ray Mabus, Secretary of the U.S. Navy

Madeline Stowe, actress

Jeremy Bird, Democratic political strategist

Christine Fox, acting Deputy Secretary of Defense

Adrian Peterson, Minnesota Vikings

Courtney O’Donnell, former director of communications for Jill Biden

Oliver Luck, Director of Intercollegiate Athletes at West Virginia University

NBC Universal:

Samantha Power, United States Ambassador to the United Nations

Kevin Hart, actor/comedian

Eniko Parrish, girlfriend of Kevin Hart, musician (The Black Eyed Peas)

Sage Kotsenburg, Olympic athlete

Cam Newton, Carolina Panthers

Denis McDonough, the White House Chief of Staff

Matt Lauer, co-anchor of the “Today Show”

Savannah Guthrie, co-anchor of the “Today Show”

Al Roker, co-host of the “Today Show”

Natalie Morales, co-host the “Today Show”

Carson Daly, the “Today Show”

Cynthia McFadden, NBC News

David Gregory, host of “Meet the Press”

Andrea Mitchell, NBC News

Chuck Todd, chief White House correspondent for NBC News

Peter Alexander, NBC News

Luke Russert, NBC News

Kelly O’Donnell, NBC News

Tom Costello, NBC News

Pete Williams, NBC News

Kristen Welker, NBC News



Julianna Margulies, actress

David McCallum, actor

Brad Paisley, musician

Kimberly Williams-Paisley, actress

Gloria Estefan, musician

Emilio Estefan, musician

Spike Jonze, director

William Bratton, New York Police Department Commissioner

Shaun Donovan, Secretary of Housing and Urban Development

Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vermont)

Rep. Mike Rogers (R-Mich.)

Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.)

Sen. Ed Markey (D-Mass.)



Tony Goldwyn, actor

Bellamy Young, actress

Darby Stanchfield, actress

Hayden Panettiere, actress

Chip Esten, actor

Jesse Tyler Ferguson, actor

Eric Stonestreet, actor

Sofia Vergara, actress

Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-Texas)

Maria Cristina Gonzalez Noguera, director of communications for first lady Michelle Obama 

Jeh Johnson, Secretary of Homeland Security

Jack Lew, United States Secretary of the Treasury

Lisa Monaco, Deputy National Security Adviser


The Washington Post: 

Francois Delattre, ambassador of France to the U.S.

Anthony Foxx, Secretary of Transportation

Eric Garcetti, Mayor of Los Angeles

B. Todd Jones, Director of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF)

Leon Panetta, former U.S. Secretary of Defense

Tim Pawlenty, former Minnesota governor

John Podesta, White House counselor

Rick Santorum, former Pennsylvania senator

Stephanie Schriock, president of Emily’s List

Garry Trudeau, creator of “Doonesbury” and writer and producer of Alpha House



Uzo Aduba (“Orange Is the New Black”)

Robin Wright (“House of Cards”)

Beau Willimon (“HOC”)

Michael Kelly (“HOC”)

Michael Gill (“HOC”)

Sakina Jeffrey (“HOC”)

Molly Parker (“HOC”)

Sebastian Arcelus (“HOC”)

Mahershala Ali (“HOC”)