Glenn Close Wins Best International Actress Honor From Irish Film Academy

Albert Nobbs- Glenn Close - 2001- H

Meryl Streep, Tilda Swinton and Kirsten Wiig all miss out on acting plaudit as 9th annual Irish Film and Television Awards are dished out.

Glenn Close and her turn in Albert Nobbs beat Meryl Streep's outing in The Iron Lady, Oscar winner Tilda Swinton in We Need To Talk About Kevin and Kirsten Wiig's Bridesmaids turn to take home the Irish Film And Television Academy's best international actress award Saturday evening.

The ninth annual Irish Film & Television Awards, dished out at a gala awards ceremony in Dublin also saw Ryan Gosling awarded the best international actor nod for his turn in Drive, nosing ahead of Don Cheadle in The Guard, Leonardo DiCaprio's performance in J. Edgar and Gary Oldman in Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

Best international film went to StudioCanal's Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, chosen ahead of Bridesmaids, Drive and Senna.

But the evening -- as far as the film awards segment was concerned -- belonged in a large part to writer/director John Michael McDonagh.

McDonagh was named best director, best screenwriter and the Irish Film Board Rising Star for his feature directorial debut The Guard.

Veteran Irish actress Fionnula Flanagan, who snared the IFTA Lifetime Achievement Award, also sashayed off with a second IFTA statuette for her supporting role in McDonagh's picture.

Irish talent working on international projects fared particularly well with Michael Fassbender on hand to accept the IFTA for leading actor for his turn in Steve McQueen’s Shame.

Bridesmaids star Chris O’Dowd was presented with the supporting actor movie plaudit while actress Saoirse Ronan secured a nod for her lead performance in film as a teen assassin in Joe Wright’s Hanna.

Elsewhere Ruth Negga accepted the IFTA for her portrayal of Shirley Bassey in the BBC biopic and Northern Irish cinematographer Seamus McGarvey took home the DOP Film/Drama award for his work on We Need to Talk About Kevin.

McDonagh's follow-up feature to his debut, Calvary, starring Brendan Gleeson, Chris O'Dowd, Kelly Reilly and Aidan Gillen is stirring up buyer interest at the EFM for sales banner Protagonist Pictures.


The winners:

BEST FILM: The Guard – John Michael McDonagh

DIRECTOR FILM - John Michael McDonagh - The Guard

SCRIPT FILM - John Michael McDonagh - The Guard

ACTOR – FILM - Michael Fassbender – Shame

ACTRESS – FILM Saoirse Ronan - Hanna

SUPPORTING ACTOR – FILM Chris O’Dowd - Bridesmaids

SUPPORTING ACTRESS – FILM Fionnula Flanagan - The Guard

GEORGE MORRISON FEATURE DOCUMENTARY AWARD Bernadette; Notes on a Political Journey - Lelia Doolan


ANIMATION The Boy in the Bubble - Kealan O’ Rourke (Igloo Films)

PHILIPS SHORT FILM AWARD Foxes - Lorcan Finnegan


INTERNATIONAL FILM Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy


INTERNATIONAL ACTRESS Glenn Close - Albert Nobbs

COSTUME DESIGN (FILM / TV DRAMA) Consolata Boyle - The Iron Lady

DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY (FILM / TV DRAMA) Seamus McGarvey - We Need To Talk About Kevin

EDITING (FILM / TV DRAMA) Isobel Stephenson - Love/Hate

M.A.C MAKE-UP & HAIR (FILM / TV DRAMA) Lorraine Glynn / Lynn Johnston - Albert Nobbs

ORIGINAL SCORE (FILM / TV DRAMA) Brian Byrne - Albert Nobbs

PRODUCTION DESIGN (FILM / TV DRAMA) Anna Rackard - Stella Days

SOUND (FILM / TV DRAMA) Albert Nobbs - Brendan Deasy, Niall Brady, Michelle Cunniffe, Steve Fanagan