Irish Rising Star Award noms revealed

Corkery, Muldowney, Healy, Sheehan, Moore, Wardrop named

LONDON -- Writers/directors Margaret Corkery and Brendan Muldowney, actors Darren Healy and Robert Sheehan, director/producer Tomm Moore and director Ken Wardrop are all in the running for this year's Irish Rising Star Award.

Dished out during the Irish Film And Television Academy awards next month, the rising star award is picked by a special jury and is sponsored by Bord Scannan na hEireann (Irish Film Board).

Corkery's credits include "Eamon" which also stars Healy while Sheehan has appeared in productions including "Cherrybomb" and "Misfits." Moore directed and co-produced "The Secret of Kells" while Muldowney is writer/director on "Savage" and Wardrop is nominated for "His & Hers."

Previous winners include Michael Fassbender who last year waltzed to the jury prize for his star turn in "Hunger." In 2008, Saoirse Ronan secured the trophy after her breakthrough turn in "Atonement."
comments powered by Disqus