Jackie Chan timeline


April 7, 1954 -- Born in Hong Kong

1960 -- Entered the China Drama Academy, where he was under the care and training of Master Yu Jim-yuen in the Peking Opera discipline for the next decade

1962 -- Took first film role under the name of Yuen Lau in "Seven Little Valiant Fighters" along with his China Drama Academy "brothers," later collectively known as the Seven Little Fortunes

1971 -- Left academy and took up work as stuntman in the Hong Kong kung fu film avalanche triggered by the success of Bruce Lee; later promoted to action choreographer

July 1973 -- Bruce Lee dies; kung fu cinema falls into decline; Chan finds stuntmen work dwindling

1974 -- Picked to star in his first headliner role in "The Cub Tiger" from Kwang Tung," but the film failed to attract audiences

1976-77 -- Got his break from director-producer Lo Wei, who signed and put him in the leads of "Shaolin Wooden Men," "The Killer Meteors," "New Fist of Fury," "To Kill With Intrigue" and the early John Woo film "Hand of Death," yet all flop

1978 -- Still starring in Lo Wei's pics including "Snake & Crane Arts of Shaolin," "Spiritual Kung Fu" and "Magnificent Bodyguards" -- all disappointments -- but finally made his name with Ng See-yuen and Yuen Woo-ping's action comedy hits "Snake in Eagle's Shadow" and "Drunken Master"

1980 -- Directs and stars in "The Young Master," the 10th anniversary of the studio's founding which became the year's highest-grossing film in Hong Kong with HK$11 million; later sent by Golden Harvest to Los Angeles to star in first English starrer and U.S. release "The Big Brawl," which failed to thrill Americans

1981 -- Had a role in "Cannonball Run," the first major Golden Harvest in Hollywood expressly produced to launch Chan in U.S.; film became huge hit but Chan didn't

1982 -- Directs and stars in "Dragon Lord" and "Project A," both hits that grossed HK$11 million and HK$19 million, respectively

1986 -- Sustained severe head injuries and on brink of death while on location in then-Yugoslavia for "Armor of God"

1987 -- "Armor of God" breaks Hong Kong boxoffice records with HK$35 million gross; "Project A II" fares less well but did respectable business with HK$31 million

1988 -- "Dragons Forever," co-starring Chan's former academy brothers Sammo Hung and Yuen Biao, grosses HK$33.6 million, while "Police Story II" collects HK$34 million

1989 -- Chan's directs the favorite work of his career to date, "Miracle," where he splashed on sets and props; film collects HK$34 million

1992 -- "Supercop 2," which grosses HK$33 million, marks the first time Chan worked with Stanley Tong; the two would later collaborate four times more in "Police Story 3" (1993), "Rumble in the Bronx," "Police Story 4: First Strike" (1996) and "The Myth" (2005)

1995 -- The year of Jackie Chan: "Rumble in the Bronx" broke boxoffice records in Hong Kong with HK$56.9 million and won best action choreography at the Hong Kong Film Awards; opened in 1,700 theaters stateside and collects $32 million, making it the highest-grossing Hong Kong film released in U.S. and establishes Chan as an international superstar; later in the year "Thunderbolt" also collects HK$46 million

1998 -- "Rush Hour" from New Line opens worldwide, eventually grossing $245 million

2007 -- Released "Rush Hour 3"

2008 -- Chinese-American co-production "Forbidden Kingdom," the first film Chan and Jet Li co-starred in, opened on the top of the U.S. boxoffice chart and collects $52 million, goes on to gross 150 million yuan ($22 million); DreamWorks Animation's "Kung Fu Panda," which boosted Chan's voice work as Monkey, rakes in $633 worldwide and became the highest-grossing animation feature in China

2009 -- "Shinjuku Incident" released
comments powered by Disqus