James McAvoy joins Rising Star jury

British Academy Film Award voted for by the public

LONDON -- James McAvoy, winner of the inaugural Orange Rising Star Award in 2006, will be among the jurors casting votes for the 2009 nominees.

It is the only award at the British Academy Film Awards to be voted for by the public and, beginning Jan. 8, votes for the five nominees can be cast at www.orange.co.uk/bafta.

Potential nominees are proposed by BAFTA members and film distributors to create an initial long list of names. A panel consisting of actors, directors, producers, media representatives and BAFTA Film Committee members then selects five nominees via a secret ballot.

This year's Orange Rising Star jury members include producers Finola Dwyer and Allon Reich, director Susanna White and actress Kelly Macdonald.

The jury is chaired by BAFTA chairman and Oscar-winning producer David Parfitt. Eva Green in 2007 and Shia LaBeouf in 2008 followed McAvoy.