Jane Fonda to Receive Producers Guild's Stanley Kramer Award

Marion Curtis/Starpix
Jane Fonda

The two-time Oscar winner will be honored for her lifetime of activism and philanthropic work.

Producer, actress and activist Jane Fonda will be honored with the Producers Guild of America's 2019 Stanley Kramer Award at the 30th annual Producers Guild Awards on Jan. 19 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The award, established in 2002 and named after producer-director Stanley Kramer, recognizes "a production, producer or other individuals whose achievement or contribution illuminates and raises public awareness of important social issues." Fonda, who is being recognized for her lifetime of activism and her philanthropic work, will be only the second individual to receive the award, which is usually given to a film, like recent recipients Get Out in 2018 and Loving in 2017, and its producers. The first individual to be so honored was Sean Penn in 2010.

A two-time Academy Award winner for 1971's Klute and 1978's Coming Home, Fonda has established such nonprofits as the Georgia Campaign for Adolescent Power & Potential (she celebrated her 80th birthday last December by raising $1.3 million to lower the teen pregnancy rate and improve the overall health and well-being of young people in the state of Georgia) and the Women's Media Center, which she co-founded with Gloria Steinem and Robin Morgan to make women and girls more visible and powerful in media. 

This year, Fonda starred in the summer box office hit Book Club and was the subject of the HBO documentary Jane Fonda in Five Acts, chronicling her life and her activism. Next month the fifth season of her comedy series Grace and Frankie, which she executive produces and stars in, will begin streaming on Netflix.

"Jane Fonda has built an extraordinary legacy as an outspoken advocate for the vulnerable in our society. Throughout her remarkable life, she has made and continues to make a significant impact on the lives of people through her work both on and off the screen. Fonda exemplifies the spirit of Stanley Kramer, and we are proud to honor her," PGA presidents Gail Berman and Lucy Fisher said in a joint statement announcing the honor.

The award's recipient is determined by a nine-person committee appointed by the PGA's National Board of Directors and operates independently of the PGA awards team and the PGA staff.