Jane Fonda to Receive AFI Life Achievement Award

Getty Images
Jane Fonda

Her father, Henry, was honored with the award in 1978, making the Fondas the first father and daughter to be recognized by the American Film Institute.

Jane Fonda has been selected to receive the American Film Institute’s 42nd AFI Life Achievement Award. The honor will be presented to her at a gala tribute June 5 in Los Angeles that will be broadcast by both TNT and Turner Classic Movies.

Fonda, an Oscar winner for 1971’s Klute and 1978’s Coming Home, follows in the footsteps of her father, Henry Fonda, who received the AFI’s highest honor in 1978, making the Fondas the third family to receive multiple AFI awards: Kirk Douglas was recognized in 1991, and his son Michael Douglas in 2009; Warren Beatty was honored in 2008, and his sister Shirely MacLaine in 2012.

PHOTOS: TCM Classic Film Fest Honors Jane Fonda and Other Hollywood Legends

In announcing Jane Fonda’s selection by the AFI board, Howard Stringer, the board’s chair, said: "Jane Fonda is American film royalty. A bright light first introduced to the world as the daughter of Henry Fonda, the world watched as she found her own voice and forged her own path as an actor and a cultural icon. Today she stands tall among the giants of American film."

Since she made her film debut in 1960’s Tall Story, Fonda has starred in more than 40 films that have included Cat Ballou, They Shoot Horses, Don’t They?, The China Syndrome, 9 to 5, and On Golden Pond. Most recently, she has appeared in HBO’s The Newsroom and on the big screen in Lee Daniels’ The Butler, appearing as Nancy Reagan.

PHOTOS: AFI's Mel Brooks Tribute Draws Starry Mix of Comedians and Film Legends

Beyond her acting career, she has devoted herself to various causes as a political activist, and also contributed to the ‘80s aerobics craze with her workout videos.  

The list of AFI Life Achievement Award recipients follows:

1973   John Ford

1974   James Cagney

1975   Orson Welles

1976   William Wyler

1977   Bette Davis

1978   Henry Fonda

1979   Alfred Hitchcock

1980   James Stewart

1981   Fred Astaire

1982   Frank Capra

1983   John Huston

1984   Lillian Gish

1985   Gene Kelly

1986   Billy Wilder

1987   Barbara Stanwyck

1988   Jack Lemmon

1989   Gregory Peck

1990   David Lean

1991   Kirk Douglas

1992   Sidney Poitier

1993   Elizabeth Taylor

1994   Jack Nicholson

1995   Steven Spielberg

1996   Clint Eastwood

1997   Martin Scorsese

1998   Robert Wise

1999   Dustin Hoffman

2000   Harrison Ford

2001   Barbra Streisand

2002   Tom Hanks

2003   Robert De Niro

2004   Meryl Streep

2005   George Lucas

2006   Sean Connery

2007   Al Pacino

2008   Warren Beatty

2009   Michael Douglas

2010   Mike Nichols

2011   Morgan Freeman

2012   Shirley MacLaine

2013   Mel Brooks