Japan's 'Like Father Like Son' Wins Big at Asia-Pacific Film Festival Awards

Hirokazu Kore-eda

Hirokazu Kore-eda's switched at birth drama, recently picked up for a remake by Dreamworks, wins Best Picture and Best Director at the cinema awards show hosted in Macau.

Japanese director Hirokazu Kore-eda was the big winner at the Asia Pacific Film Festival awards in Macau over the weekend, taking the key categories of Best Picture and Best Director with his film Like Father, Like Son.

Organized by the Federation of Motion Picture Producers in Asia-Pacific (FPA), the APFF is one of the region's oldest film events. The first edition, established to promote Asian cinema and encourage cross-border collaboration, was held in Tokyo in 1954. Member territories have taken turns hosting in the years since.

Kore-eda's domestic drama, about the families of two sons switched at birth, premiered at this year's Cannes film festival, where Steven Spielberg was jury president. The film won the Cannes Jury Prize and Dreamworks bought the remake rights in September.

Zhang Ziyi took Best Actress for her role Wong Kar Wai's The Grandmaster, while Lee Kang-sheng won Best Actor for his performance in Stray Dogs – a repeat of both actors' wins at the Taipei Golden Horse Awards last month.

Best Supporting Actress went to Yeo Yann Yann for her turn in festival favorite, Ilo Ilo from Singapore. India's Nawazuddin Sidiqui took Best Supporting Actor for The Lunchbox.

The Lunchbox's star Irrfan Khan took the event's special Outstanding Achievement and the film also won Best Sound.

The Grandmaster won Best Cinematography.

In 2014, the Asia-Pacific Film Festival will be hosted in Bangkok, Thailand.

The list of 2013 APFF winners in key categories is below.

Best Picture: Like Father Like Son [Japan]
Best Director: Kore-eda Hirokazu; Like Father Like Son [Japan]
Best Actor: Lee Kang-sheng; Stray Dogs [Taiwan/France]
Best Actress: Zhang Ziyi; The Grandmaster [Hong Kong/China]
Outstanding Achievement: Irrfan Khan; The Lunchbox [India]
Best Supporting Actor: Nawazuddin Siddiqui; The Lunchbox [India]
Best Supporting Actress: Yeo Yann Yann; Ilo Ilo [Singapore]
Best Screenplay: Ritesh Batra; The Lunchbox [India]
Best Art Director: Ondrej Nekvasil; Snowpiercer [South Korea]
Best Editing: Simon Price, Sally Blenheim, Luca Cappelli; Ruin [Australia]
Best Music: Zeke Khaseli, Yudhi Arfani; What They Don't Talk About When They Talk About Love [Indonesia]
Best Sound: Tu Duu-chih, Kuo Li-chi; Stray Dogs [Taiwan/France]
Best Cinematography: Philippe Le Sourd; The Grandmaster [Hong Kong/China]