Jason Reitman honored at Palm Springs fest

T Bone Burnett, Jeremy Renner also among honorees

The Palm Springs International Film Festival continued to add to its kudos slate with the announcement Thursday that Jason Reitman will be honored as director of the year, Jeremy Renner will receive a Breakthrough Performance Award and T Bone Burnett will be the recipient of the Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing.

The awards will be presented Jan. 5 at the fest's Awards Gala at the Palm Springs Convention Center. The festival is set for Jan. 5-18.

More awards coverage  
Reitman's "Up in the Air" opened last week to strong critical reviews; he received the fest's Chairman's Vanguard Award for "Juno" in 2008. Renner stars as a bomb-defusal expert in "The Hurt Locker." Burnett composed the score for "Crazy Heart," which opens Wednesday.

Said festival chairman Harold Matzner of the honorees: "Each of them has distinguished themselves this year in ways that set them apart from the pack: Reitman with his emotionally resonant and very timely new directorial triumph 'Up in the Air,' Burnett with his soulful, masterful soundtrack for 'Crazy Heart' and Renner with his riveting turn as a hellbent young bomb-squad officer in 'The Hurt Locker.' "