'Jauja' Wins Cinema Tropical Awards

'Jauja,' Lisandro Alonso (Un Certain Regard)
Courtesy of Festival De Cannes

Viggo Mortensen stars in this drama about a father and daughter who travel from Denmark to an unknown desert. It’s the first film from Argentine auteur Alonso since Liverpool, which screened in Directors’ Fortnight in 2008. (Sales: NDM)

The only U.S. awards dedicated to LatAm cinema named the Viggo Mortensen-starrer best Latin American film of the year.

Argentinean film Jauja, directed by Lisandro Alonso and starring Viggo Mortensen, was the winner of the best Latin American film of the year award at the sixth annual Cinema Tropical Awards, which were announced on Wednesday at a special event at The New York Times Company headquarters.

Panamanian film Invasion — the country's Oscar bid, directed by Abner Benaim — was named best Latin American documentary film of the year, while the Guatemalan film Ixcanul Volcanoby Jayro Bustamante was awarded with the prize for best first film. The Cinema Tropical Award for best U.S. Latino film of the year was presented to Mala Mala by Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles. The jury decided also to give a special mention to The Book of Life, by Jorge Gutiérrez.

Chilean filmmaker Pablo Larraín won the award for best director of a fiction film for Golden Globe nom The Club, while Betzabé García, from Mexico, grabbed best director of a documentary film for Kings of Nowhere.

A distributor, programmer, and promoter of Latin American cinema since 2001, Cinema Tropical brought to U.S. audiences some of the first screening of such films as Alejandro Iñárritu's Amores Perros and Alfonso Cuaron's Y Tu Mamá También.

According to the organization, some of the winning films will be screened during the Cinema Tropical Festival at the Museum of the Moving Image in New York on Feb. 25-28.

The full awards list is below:

Best Latin American Film of the Year – Jauja (Argentina)

Best Documentary Film - Invasion (Panama)

Best First Film - Ixcanul Volcano (Guatemala)

Best U.S. Latino Film - Mala Mala

Best Director of a Feature Film - Pablo Larraín, for The Club (Chile)

Best Director of a Documentary Film - Betzabé García, for Kings of Nowhere (Mexico)