Jennifer Lopez to Receive Icon Award at 2014 Billboard Music Awards

AP Images/Invision

Lopez and Pitbull will premiere their World Cup anthem, while J.Lo will debut her new single, "First Love."

Jennifer Lopez will be feted with the Icon Award at the 2014 Billboard Music Awards, to be held May 18 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas and televised by ABC.

The pop superstar will take the stage alongside Pitbull to premiere the official anthem of this year’s FIFA World Cup, "We Are One (Ole Ola)."

Lopez will give another debut performance on the night with a rendition of "First Love," a single lifted from her new studio album A.K.A., which is set for release on Capitol Records June 17.

PHOTOS; 'American Idol' Season 13: Fresh Faces, 'Harsh' Harry Connick, Jr. and Jennifer Lopez's Return

The Icon Award is the BBMA’s ultimate honor. The accolade recognizes lifetime achievement and an artist’s remarkable and enduring contribution to popular music. Lopez becomes just the fourth artist and the first woman to receive the honor, joining past winners Neil Diamond, Stevie Wonder and Prince.

"Jennifer Lopez is one of the most iconic performers of her generation,” says Larry Klein, producer of the Billboard Music Awards. “We are thrilled to honor her historic career with the 2014 Icon Award and will be on the edge of our seats like everyone else when she takes the stage."

Lopez shared the title of her eighth studio album and its artwork last night with her 27.4 million Twitter followers. She recently previewed six songs from the album at an intimate Malibu brunch, saying her songs “were always about love … in a fairy-tale type of way. I was hoping, praying and wishing for that.”

STORY: Jennifer Lopez Reveals Album Title, Cover Art

She began recording A.K.A. in February 2013 after finishing her first world tour and divorcing singer-songwriter Marc Anthony. The likes of Max Martin and Diplo lend their production skills to the set, while Robin Thicke, Big Sean and Wiz Khalifa are among the big-name collaborators.

Previously announced performers on the night include 5 Seconds of Summer, Florida Georgia Line, Jason Derulo, Imagine Dragons, Luke Bryan, John Legend and OneRepublic.

The 2014 Billboard Music Awards will be produced by Dick Clark Productions. Allen Shapiro and Mike Mahan are executive producers, while Barry Adelman and Mark Bracco join Klein as producers.

A version of this article first appeared on