Jerry Lewis To Receive Lifetime Achievement From Publicists Guild

Jerry Lewis
Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images

Network: Encore
Role: Subject of documentary, Method to the Madness of Jerry Lewis.

On the current state of the TV industry: "We don't have the soul in our industry that we had when I was working. And the soul has been desperately deteriorated, only because you got a guy that's running a network whose aunt died and left him some stock." Lewis later went off on other reality staples. "Proctor & Gamble says, 'Are you nuts? You want me to spend $1.6 million for that variety show when I can get the fat lady to lose weight for $62,000. Let's go with that one. We'll call it reality,' And that's what they've done."

The comedian and actress, a former recipient of the same award, will help honor the 86-year-old actor during the Feb. 28 ceremony.

Carol Burnett will present the Lifetime Achievement Award to 2014 recipient Jerry Lewis at the ICG Publicists Awards luncheon on Feb. 28 in Beverly Hills, one of the annual kickoff events during Oscar weekend.

Burnett is a previous recipient of the same award that she will present to the 86-year-old actor, writer, producer, director and humanitarian. ICG president Steven Poster called Lewis “a national treasure who has provided generations worldwide with decades of laughs.”

“Jerry Lewis has achieved what few other performers have - success in movies, television and live performances.” said awards committee chairman Henri Bollinger. “This is due in large measure to his enormous talent, of course, but also because of his uncanny appreciation and knowledge of the importance of publicity in attracting audiences.”

Lewis has recently returned to movies as star of the upcoming independent feature Max Rose, premiered during the 2013 Cannes Film Festival. Other past lifetime achievement recipients include last year’s honoree Kirk Douglas, Sylvester Stallone, Robert Zemeckis, Harrison Ford, Julie Andrew, Clint Eastwood, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Warren Beatty.

Other awards to be presented are the Television Showmanship Award; the Press Award; the International Media Award; the Maxwell Weinberg Awards, which recognize outstanding accomplishment in the field of publicity; the Les Mason Award, given to a publicist for lifetime achievement; and the Bob Yeager Award, which recognizes significant community service.

Also being honored are Rob Friedman and Patrick Wachsberger, co-chairs of Lionsgate Motion Picture Group, with the Motion Picture Showmanship Award, and Shonda Rhimes, creator, writer and producer of Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice and Scandal.

The nominees for the Les Mason Lifetime Achievement Award, the guild’s highest honor for a member, are Sharon Black, director of written communications, Warner Bros. Pictures; Maureen O’Malley, senior staff publicist, Warner Bros. Pictures International; Michael Singer, VP marketing and publicity Jerry Bruckheimer Films; Murray Weissman, founder/chairman of Weissman/Markovitz Communications and Deborah Wuliger, unit publicist.

The International Media Award nominees are Nelson Aspen, Australia; Philip Berk, Australia; Peter Michell, Australia; Elisabeth Sereda, Austria; and Lynn Tso, Taiwan. 

The nominees for Excellence in Unit Still Photography in Motion Pictures are  John Bramley, Peter Mountain, Dale Robinette, Merie Wallace and Barry Wetcher. The television still photography nominees are Andrew Cooper, Ursula Coyote, Justin Lubin, Robert Voets and Michael Yarish.

Nominees for the Press Award are Ed Douglas,; Michael Fleming, Deadline Hollywood; Tim Gray, Senior Vice President, Variety; Jeff Jensen, Entertainment Weekly; and Scott Mantz, Access Hollywood.