Jim Gianopulos to Receive Pioneer of the Year Award

Jim Gianopulos Executive Suite - P 2012
Austin Hargrave

Jim Gianopulos Executive Suite - P 2012

The Will Rogers Motion Picture Pioneers Foundation will honor Fox's chairman and CEO at CinemaCon in Las Vegas in April

Fox chairman and CEO Jim Gianopulos will be honored with the 2015 Pioneer of the Year award at CinemaCon in Las Vegas, the Will Rogers Motion Picture Pioneers Foundation announced Tuesday.

Gianopulos, who oversees all feature film production and marketing as well as global distribution of films and television shows, will be honored at a gala event on April 22 during the annual conference for theater owners.

Fox has had a strong past few years under Gianopulos' direction. He has overseen the release of a broad range of successful films, including the recent hits Gone Girl, Birdman, X-Men: Days of Future Past, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, The Fault in Our Stars and The Grand Budapest Hotel. In 2014, Twentieth Century Fox eclipsed the previously held industry box office record with more than $5 billion in worldwide receipts.

Gianopulos, who recently participated in THR's executive roundtable, became the sole chairman in 2012. He previously served as chairman & CEO of Fox Filmed Entertainment and before that, he was President of Twentieth Century Fox International, a position he held since 1994. 

"We are extremely grateful that Jim will accept this well-deserved honor and help raise funds for the Pioneers Assistance Fund," said Chris Aronson, president of WRMPPF and president of domestic theatrical distribution of 20th Century Fox. "He is a leader in our industry with a passion and dedication to the creative process and the desire to assist those who need a helping hand. We look forward to celebrating Jim's personal and professional achievements at CinemaCon 2015."

Previous honorees of the Pioneer of the Year award, an industry tradition for over 70 years, include Cecil B. DeMille, Jack Warner, Darryl F. Zanuck, Jack Valenti, Terry Semel, Sumner Redstone, Sherry Lansing, Alan Horn, Kathleen Kennedy, Jeffrey Katzenberg and, last year, the late Tom Sherak.

Proceeds from the event benefit the Pioneers Assistance Fund (PAF), an industry charity that helps movie industry veterans who are encountering an illness, injury or life-changing event.