Joe Wright to preside over Edinburgh jury

11 films up for festival's Michael Powell award

LONDON -- Director Joe Wright will preside over this year's Edinburgh International Film Festival Michael Powell Jury, organizers said Monday.

Wright will be president of the festival's main jury alongside actor Frank Langella, USA Today film critic Claudia Puig, journalist, broadcaster and author Janet Street-Porter and Australian actor Sacha Horler.

Wright said he was delighted to be returning to the Scottish shindig, describing it as a place "which has always been the greatest melting pot of the British film industry and culture."

Named in homage to one of Britain's most original filmmakers and inaugurated in 1993, the Michael Powell Award is sponsored by the U.K. Film Council and carries a purse of £20,000 ($32,700).

The jury will pick a winner from Brian Percival's "A Boy Called Dad," Duncan Ward's "Boogie Woogie," Jan Dunn's "The Calling," Justin Molotnikov's "Crying With Laughter," Andrea Arnold's "Fish Tank" Lindy Heymann's "Kicks," Avie Luthra's "Mad Sad & Bad," Duncan Jones's "Moon," Julian Kemp's "My Last Five Girlfriends," Dale Corlett's "Running in Traffic" and Alexis Dos Santos' "Unmade Beds."

This year's inaugural best new international feature award will be chosen by a jury of three: actor Kerry Fox, actor-director Alan Cumming and journalist and author Lee Marshall.

Producers Margaret Matheson and Nick Higgins join Turner prize-nominated Scottish artist Phil Collins to make up this year's Documentary Prize jury.

The festival also announced a further late addition to 2009's lineup with Lars von Trier's "Antichrist" added to spice up the proceedings. Its inclusion follows the British censor's decision to give the movie an 18 no cuts required certificate.

The festival starts Wednesday and runs through June 28.
comments powered by Disqus