John Carpenter to Release First Solo Album

Courtesy of John Carpenter

'Lost Themes' is due out next year

John Carpenter is getting ready to unleash his first solo album.

Lost Themes is due out Feb. 3, 2015, from Sacred Bones Records.

See more Halloween Gone Wrong: The 10 Least Scary Movies of All Time

"The best way I can describe what we've done is that it’s a 'soundtrack sampler,' " Carpenter said in a statement. "They’re little moments of score from movies made in our imaginations. Now I hope it inspires people to create films that could be scored with this music."

The move makes sense, as the director has plenty of musical experience scoring his own films, including Escape From New York, Halloween, and The Fog. In 1985, he released the album Waiting Out the Eighties with his band The Coupe De Villes.

Check out the tracklist and listen to one of the songs below.

1. Vortex

2. Obsidian

3. Fallen

4. Domain

5. Mystery

6. Abyss

7. Wraith

8. Purgatory

9. Night