John Lennon, Yoko Ono Catalogs Sign With Downtown Music Publishing

John Lennon & Yoko Ono - 1971
Gijsbert Hanekroot/Redferns/Getty Images

Among the works represented are Lennon's "Imagine," "Instant Karma (We All Shine On)," "Power to the People," "Happy X-Mas (War Is Over)," "Jealous Guy" and "(Just Like) Starting Over" along with his widow's complete catalog.

Downtown Music Publishing has announced the signing of publishing administration agreements for the U.S. with Lenono Music and Ono Music, home to the song catalogs of John Lennon and Yoko Ono respectively.

Under the terms of the agreement, which is in effect immediately, DMP will represent Lennon's solo works -- including "Imagine," "Instant Karma (We All Shine On)," "Power to the People," "Happy X-Mas (War Is Over)," "Jealous Guy," "(Just Like) Starting Over" and others.

PHOTOS: John Lennon: Days in the Life

DMP will also represent the complete works of Yoko Ono, from her double-album opus Fly to YOKOKIMTHURSTON, her recently released collaboration with members of Sonic Youth.

Previously, the two catalogs had been administered by EMI since the 1990s.

PHOTOS: The Beatles to The Wanted: The Evolution of Boy Bands

The deal is DMP's first as a stand-alone publisher. Over the past 12 months, Downtown has doubled the size of its copyright portfolio to over 40,000 titles under management.

"We are both honored and humbled to represent the iconic songs of John and Yoko," said DMP president Justin Kalifowitz. "We look forward to creating new opportunities that will expand the reach of their timeless music and message."

Twitter: @billboardbiz