Jon Brion to Score Focus' Animated Film 'ParaNorman'

Bryan Bedder/Getty Images
Jon Brion

Tucker Albrizzi, Alex Borstein and Jodelle Ferland have also joined the voice cast, led by Casey Affleck and Anna Kendrick.

Conductor and singer/songwriter Jon Brion is set to create the original score for LAIKA and Focus Features’ animated comedy-thriller ParaNorman.

Focus also announced that Tucker Albrizzi, Alex Borstein and Jodelle Ferland have joined the voice cast, which is led by Casey Affleck, Tempestt Bledsoe, Anna Kendrick and Bernard Hill.

The stop-motion animated comedy is currently in production at LAIKA’s Oregon studios, and hits theaters on Aug. 17, 2012. The project reteams LAIKA and Focus, who worked together on Coraline.

ParaNorman also reteams Brion and Focus. Brion’s original score for Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind earned him a Grammy Award nomination for best score soundtrack album, among other honors. He also received a Grammy nominee in the same category for Magnolia.

“Jon’s inventive, genre-defying musical storytelling will provide the perfect accompaniment to ParaNorman’s groundbreaking visuals and emotionally resonant narrative,” LAIKA CEO Travis Knight said.

In ParaNorman, a boy who can talk to ghouls and ghosts is called into action when zombies invade his town, and must ultimately help save the community from a centuries-old curse.

comments powered by Disqus