Julia Roberts to Receive Cinematographers' Board of Governors Award

Chris Jackson/Getty Images

The actress will be honored for advancing the art and craft of filmmaking during the organization's annual ceremony Feb. 13.

Julia Roberts will receive the American Society of Cinematographers 2011 Board of Governors Award, which is given to individuals for advancing the art and craft of filmmaking.

The award will be presented during the 25th annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards on Feb. 13 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom.

“Cinematographers and actors have a special rapport that begins with a mutual trust,” ASC awards committee chair Richard Crudo said. “Julia brings something extra to that relationship and further elevates what we do with her beauty and grace. She's a gift to every cinematographer she works with.”

Roberts earned an Academy Award in 2001 for her role in Erin Brockovich and Oscar nominations for her performances in Steel Magnolias and Pretty Woman. Her films have grossed more than $2.5 billion worldwide.

Most recently, Roberts starred in Eat Pray Love, based on the best-selling memoir by Elizabeth Gilbert. Her next film, Larry Crowne, directed by and starring Tom Hanks, is scheduled for release in July.