Jury of peers plucked for Sundance gig


NEW YORK -- Marcia Gay Harden, Sandra Oh, Quentin Tarantino, Jason Reitman and Alan Alda topline the list of the 24 jurors selected to award prizes at this month's Sundance Film Festival.

The six juries overseeing competition categories also feature well-known names from the indie film world, including Melonie Diaz, Mary Harron, Diego Luna, Michelle Byrd and Eugene Jarecki.

Harden, Luna and Oh will join directors Harron ("American Psycho") and Tarantino to choose the dramatic competition grand jury prize.

IFP executive director Byrd will join directors Heidi Ewing ("Jesus Camp"), Jarecki ("Why We Fight") Steven Okazaki ("Rehab") and Annie Sundberg ("The Devil Came on Horseback") in selecting the documentary competition grand jury prize.

Indie directors Shunji Iwai of Japan, Lucrecia Martel of Argentina and Jan Schuette of Germany will jury the world dramatic competition. Rio de Janeiro International Film Festival executive director Ilda Santiago, European Documentary Network director Leena Pasanen and "My Kid Could Paint That" helmer Amir Bar-Lev will select the world documentary competition winner.

Filmmaker Jon Bloom, Diaz and Reitman comprise the American and international shorts jury. Alda, Michael Polish ("Northfork"), science author Evan Schwartz, Walt Disney Imagineering chief scientist Benedict Schwegler and film scientific adviser John Underkoffler will select the Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize, awarded to a film focusing on science or technology.

The awards will be announced Jan. 26 at the Park City Racquet Club.