Karlovy Vary unveils competition lineup

Festival continues its focus on Central, Eastern Europe

MOSCOW -- The Karlovy Vary International Film Festival took the wraps off its 43rd edition Monday, unveiling a competition lineup true to its Central and Eastern European roots.

While this year's festival, set for July 4-12, will feature an array of international titles, organizers still managed to preserve the event's focus on its home region.

The Czech Republic has a pair of films in the official competition. Considered one of the up-and-coming voices of Czech cinema, Petr Zelenka brings "Karamazoi," a cinematic retelling of Dostoevsky's "The Brothers Karamazov" based on Evald Schorm's theatrical production.

Also featured in competition is Czech helmer Michaela Pavlatova's contemporary Prague love story "Night Owls."

Other Eastern European titles among the official selection include Croatia's Zrinko Ogresta's psychological drama "Iza stakla" (Behind the Glass) and "Plennyj" (Captive) by Russian director Alexey Uchitel, a struggle-for-survival story set during a recent war in the Caucasus.

"The Guitar," the directorial debut of Amy Redford, daughter of Robert, is the sole U.S. entry in competition. The freshman feature, which debuted this year at Sundance, focuses on a young woman suddenly confronted with her own mortality.

The complete Karlovy Vary lineup follows:

Official selection -- competition
"Behind the Glass," Zrinko Ogresta, Croatia
"Captive," Alexey Uchitel, Russia, Bulgaria
"Distant Tremors," Manuel Poutte, Belgium-France
"Dr. Aleman," Tom Schreiber, Germany
"The Early Bird Catches the Worm," Francesco Patierno, Italy
"The Guitar," Amy Redford, U.S.
"The Investigator," Attila Gigor, Hungary-Sweden-Ireland
"The Karamazovs," Petr Zelenka, Czech Republic
"Night Owls," Michaela Pavlatova, Czech Republic
"The Photograph," Nan T. Achnas, Indonesia-France-Netherlands-Switzerland-Sweden
"Pretextos," Silvia Munt, Spain
"The Shaft," Zhang Chi, China
"Terribly Happy," Henrik Ruben Genz, Denmark
"True Enough," Sam Karmann, France

Documentary films in competition
"Bigger, Stronger, Faster*," Christopher Bell, U.S.
"Blind Loves," Juraj Lehotsky, Slovakia
"The Bug Trainer," Donatas Ulvydas, Linas Augutis, Marek Skrobecki, Lithuania-Poland-Japan-Germany
"Bye Bye Shanghai," Jana Bokova, Czech Republic, Argentina
"Cosmic Station," Bettina Timm, Germany
"Cyanosis," Rokhsareh Ghaemmaghami, Iran
"Everything Is Relative," Mikala Krogh, Denmark
"Hero, Wings Are Not Necessary to Fly," Angel Loza, Spain
"Hoy el dia se repite diferente," Oscar Moreno, Xavier Baig, Spain
"Just Like Heaven," Filip Marczewski, Poland
"The Ladies," Christina A. Voros, U.S.
"Lost World," Gyula Nemes, Hungary-Finland
"Man on Wire," James Marsh, U.K.
"The Mother," Antoine Cattin, Pavel Kostomarov, Switzerland-France-Russia
"Rain of the Children," Vincent Ward, New Zealand
"Rene," Helena Trestikova, Czech Republic

East of the West -- films in competition
"Bahrtalo! (Good Luck!)," Robert Lakatos, Hungary-Austria-Germany
"Boogie," Radu Muntean, Romania
"The Class," Gabor Dettre, Hungary
"The Collectress," Kristina Buozyte, Lithuania
"The Hard-Hearted," Alexey Mizgirev, Russia
"The Hollow," Marina Razbezhkina, Russia
"I Was Here," Rene Vilbre, Estonia
"It's Hard to Be Nice," Srdjan Vuletic, Bosnia and Herzegovina-Germany- U.K.-Serbia-Montenegro-Slovenia
"Mao Tse Tung," Bisha Besnik, Albania
"Muzika," Juraj Nvota, Slovakia
"Of Parents and Children," Vladimir Michalek, Czech Republic
"Seamstresses," Lyudmil Todorov, Bulgaria
"Time to Die," Dorota Kdzierzawska, Poland
"Tulpan," Lenka Tyrpakova, Kazakhstan
"Vogelfrei," Anna Viduleja, Gatis Smits, Janis Kalejs, Janis Putnins, Latvia

Forum of Independents
"Adventures of Power," Ari Gold, U.S.
"Divizionz," Yes! That's us (collective), Uganda-South Africa-U.K.-Luxembourg
"Hank and Mike," Matthiew Klinck, Canada
"Good Cats," Ying Liang, China
"Good Morning Heartache," Anna Negri, Italy
"The Man Who Loved Yngve," Stian Kristiansen, Norway
"Mermaid," Anna Melikyan, Russia
"Peacefire," Macdara Vallely, U.K.
"Poppy Shakespeare," Benjamin Ross, U.K.
"R(evolution)," Mustafa Zaveri, India
"This Beautiful City," Ed Gass-Donnelly, Canada
"Written," Kim Byung-woo, South Korea