Kathryn Bigelow wins London critics award

'Fish Tank,' 'A Prophet' also win big Thursday night

LONDON -- Kathryn Bigelow scooped the director of the year award for Iraq War drama "The Hurt Locker" at the 30th Annual London Critics Circle Awards on Thursday night, where Oscar and BAFTA nominees Colin Firth and Carey Mulligan were named British actor and actress of the year for their respective roles in "A Single Man" and "An Education."

Cannes winner and French prison drama "A Prophet" clinched film of the year, while Mo'Nique won the actress of the year award for her performance in Oscar-tipped urban drama "Precious" and Christoph Waltz took the best actor award for his role in "Inglourious Basterds."

Andrea Arnold's gritty coming of age drama "Fish Tank" scooped four gongs including British film of the Year, British director of the year and British actor in a supporting role for Michael Fassbender.

Newcomer Katie Jarvis received the NSPCC Award for young British performer of the year for her role as Mia, a troubled and vulnerable 15-year-old living in a cramped council flat, whose life changes when she becomes involved with her mother's boyfriend.

More awards coverage  
Swedish outing "Let the Right one In" won foreign language film of the year, while screenwriter of the year went to Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci and Toni Roche for political satire "In the Loop." Duncan Jones won the Breakthrough British Film-maker award for science fiction "Moon."

"Inglourious Basterds" director Quentin Tarantino was awarded the Critics' Circle's highest honor, the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence for his outstanding contribution to cinema.