Kathy Griffin to Host 2019 Shorty Awards (Exclusive)

Kathy Griffin -Publicity -H 2019
Courtesy of Kathy Griffin

The ceremony, set for May 5 in New York, honors the best of social media.

Kathy Griffin has signed on to host this year's Shorty Awards.

The actress-comedian also is a finalist this year in the "best celebrity" category, where she will compete alongside Joe Biden, Jonah Hill, Lil Miquela, Reese Witherspoon and Russell Brand.

The Shorty Awards honor the best of social media by recognizing the influencers, brands and organizations on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, Tik Tok and more. Winners are chosen through a combination of votes from the public and scores given by the Real Time Academy.

"WIG! The Shorty Awards honor all that is unique, cutting-edge, diverse and unpredictable," Griffin said. "I've been streaming the show for the last several years, and I couldn’t be more excited that this year I am not only a nominee, but also the proud host! The categories, similar to the digital world we all now live in, go from the ridiculously fun to the supremely sublime. I look forward to making the audience laugh and moving the show along at a nice pace. Why? Because I stan."

Added Shorty Awards organizers: "Over the past year, Kathy has organically grown her online YouTube following and has made a natural shift to include a strong digital presence within her brand. Kathy has long proven herself within traditional entertainment and her seamless pivot within the digital space made her the perfect choice to host this year. We are thrilled to have her host The Shorty Awards and can't wait for her to bring her incredible energy and experience to this year's show."

Past hosts include Tony Hale, Keke Palmer, Rachel Dratch and Mamrie Hart.

The 11th Annual Shorty Awards will take place May 5 at 6 p.m. ET at the Playstation Theater in New York's Times Square. The show will also live-stream on Twitter, YouTube and at ShortyAwards.com.

Also among this year's nominees are Awkwafina, Michelle Obama and Jason Momoa. Past winners include Taylor Swift, Tyler Oakley, Casey Neistat, Hannibal Buress, Malala Yousafzai, Jenna Marbles, J.K. Rowling, Adele and DJ Khaled.

In addition, each year The Shorty Awards presents the Phenom Award to individuals or groups who have made a significant societal impact toward social good, while leveraging the power of social media.

This year's recipients include Marsai Martin (for entertainment), Terry Crews (for activism), Kevin Love (for athlete) and March for Our Lives (for changemakers). All will accept their awards at the live show.

Other talent confirmed to attend the red carpet show this year include Shangela, Hart, Grace Helbig, Tank and the Bangas, who will perform, Molly Burke, Shane Dawson, Ryland Adams, Try Guys and more yet to be announced.