Kaufman chairs indie group


Troma Entertainment's Lloyd Kaufman was elected to a two-year term as chairman of the Independent Film & Television Alliance during the trade association's annual members meeting Thursday.

He replaces Michael Ryan, who has held the post for four years. An executive committee member, Ryan was elected vice chairman, while Paul Hertzberg was elected vice chairman/secretary.

IFTA president and CEO Jean Prewitt said Kaufman "is a dynamic leader whose energy, creativity and global relationships will help further lead IFTA in today's increasingly challenging environment."

Executive committee members remaining in their current roles include Ehud Bleiberg, chairman of the export alliance; Mark Damon, general vice chairman; Lewis Horwitz, vice chairman/finance.

The 20-member IFTA board of directors also elected new members Elisabeth Costa de Beauregard, Stephanie Denton, Nicole Mackey, Almira Malyshev, Charlotte Mickie, Barbara Mudge and Nestor Nieves. Re-elected to two year terms were Brad Kembel, Albert Lee and Andrew Stevens.

Dan March, Steven Paul and David Shoshan will serve as alternates to the IFTA board.