Kendrick Lamar Drops Surprise 'Untitled Unmastered' Album

Kendrick Lamar  - H 2016
Austin Hargrave

All track titles on the album are "untitled" followed by a number and what appears to be a date.

Kendrick Lamar dropped a surprise album of previously unreleased, untitled and — apparently — unmastered songs on Thursday (March 3) night.

The album apparently includes untitled songs he performed at the Grammys last month, on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon in January and another on Comedy Central's Colbert Report in 2014. 

Judging by the track titles — which are all "untitled" with a number and what appears to be a date following — Lamar seemingly recorded these songs between 2013–2016.

Buy the album on iTunes here.

Untitled Unmastered track list:

1. "untitled 01 08.19.2014."
2. "untitled 02 06.23.2014."
3. "untitled 03 05.28.2013."
4. "untitled 04 08.14.2014."
5. "untitled 05 09.21.2014."
6. "untitled 06 06.30.2014."
7. "untitled 07 2014 – 2016"
8. "untitled 08 09.06.2014."

On Tuesday, Lamar's manager and label head TDE CEO Anthony "Top Dawg" Tiffith announced he would be releasing a new project in the week, but gave no hint it might be new Lamar songs.

This article first appeared on