Kendrick Lamar's 'To Pimp a Butterfly' Gets Accidental Digital Release, Removed

AP Images
Kendrick Lamar

The follow-up to the rapper's critically acclaimed 2012 effort 'good kid, m.A.A.d city' was due out on March 23 via Aftermath-Interscope, though the clean version hit iTunes overnight.

Kendrick Lamar's "clean" and "explicit" versions of his eagerly anticipated sophomore album, To Pimp a Butterfly, were accidentally released Sunday night.

The follow-up to the rapper's critically acclaimed 2012 effort good kid, m.A.A.d city was due out on March 23 via Aftermath-Interscope, though the clean version hit iTunes overnight.

To Pimp A Butterfly now appears in iTunes as a preorder, with only first single "The Blacker the Berry" being available for download. The album was reported to have been available on Spotify as well, which has also been removed.

The early release came as a surprise for some of Lamar's inner sanctum. Anthony Tiffith, the CEO of Top Dawg Entertainment, which represents Lamar, was less than impressed. He tweeted. "I WOULD LIKE 2 PERSONALLY THANK @Interscope FOR FUCKING UP OUR RELEASE... SOMEBODY GOTS 2 PAY 4 THIS MISTAKE !!!! #TOP"

The "explicit" version of the album dropped soon after. A subsequent tweet suggested Tiffith had calmed down, but his anger at Interscope was still palpable. 

The 16-track album opens with "Wesley's Theory," featuring George Clinton and Thundercat, and there's collabs with the likes of Bilal, Anna Wise, Snoop Dogg, James FauntleroyRonald Isley and Rapsody. Lamar had already shared two new songs, "The Blacker the Berry" and "King Kunta," both of which appear on the album. 

To Pimp a Butterfly tracklist
1. Wesley's Theory (feat. George Clinton & Thundercat)
2. For Free? (Interlude)
3. King Kunta
4. Institutionalized (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)
5. These Walls (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Thundercat)
6. U
7. Alright
8. For Sale? (Interlude)
9. Momma
10. Hood Politics
11. How Much a Dollar Cost (feat. James Fauntleroy & Ronald Isley)
12. Complexion (A Zulu Love) [feat. Rapsody]
13. The Blacker the Berry
14. You Ain't Gotta Lie (Momma Said)
15. i
16. Mortal Man



This article originally appeared on