Kevin Beggs named new HRTS president

Will serve 2008-10 term

Kevin Beggs, president of TV programming and production at Lionsgate, has been elected as the new president of the Hollywood Radio and Television Society.

Beggs, who will serve the 2008-10 term, succeeds Chris Silbermann in the role. Beggs previously was vp of HRTS and most recently co-chaired the Cable Chiefs Newsmaker Luncheon in April and the "Where Do We Go From Here" Newsmaker Luncheon in March.

"Kevin has played an extraordinary role at HRTS and has been one of our most active board members," Silbermann said. "His commitment to the organization has and will continue to make a significant impact."

Beggs said he is looking forward to "increasing the value of the organization to our membership by offering meaningful activities that are relevant to our rapidly evolving business."

The other newly elected HRTS officers are vp Zack Van Amburg, co-president of programming and production at Sony TV; treasurer Martha Henderson, executive vp and manager of the entertainment division at City National Bank; and board of directors secretary Michael Wright, head of programming at TNT, TBS and TCM.

In addition, five new directors were elected to three-year terms: Doug Herzog, president of MTV Networks Entertainment Group; Sean Perry, partner and head of the alternative department at Endeavor; Bob DeBitetto, president/GM at A&E Networks; Matt Rice, partner and head of the TV department at UTA; and Ted Harbert, president and CEO of Comcast Entertainment Group.