Key moments in Emmy’s 60-year history


November 1946: Academy of Television Arts & Sciences founder Syd Cassyd calls the organization's first meeting to order in L.A. Five people attend.

January 1949:
ATAS holds its initial awards ceremony at the Hollywood Athletic Club.

March 1955: With the formation of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, the Emmy Awards becomes a bicoastal event. For the first time, NBC broadcasts the ceremony nationwide.

March 1956: In recognition of his use and encouragement of television, Dwight Eisenhower is honored with the academy's first Governors Award.

June 1960: Harry Belafonte becomes the first African-American to win an Emmy.

May 1964: Believing NBC, which had nationally aired the awards telecast since 1955, is getting preferential treatment from ATAS, CBS News president Fred W. Friendly and ABC president Thomas W. Moore call for an Emmy boycott.

September 1965: The academy radically changes the Emmy Awards -- cutting the categories from 26 to 11 and allowing for multiple winners. The move is a disaster, and the system returns to its original form the following year.

May 1974: Daytime programming finally gets its moment in the spotlight with a stand-alone Emmy show. Soap operas, game shows, talk shows and children's programming are feted.

May 1976: After years of disharmony, the Los Angeles chapter of NATAS files suit to dissolve the organization. The New York chapter promptly countersues to take control of the TV academy.

April 1977: "Roots," ABC's epic miniseries, makes Emmy history as it earns an unprecedented 37 nominations -- the most by any individual series in a single year.

May 1977: The ongoing legal battle between the organization's Los Angeles and New York chapters leads to a postponement of the Emmy ceremony.

June 1977: The two groups sever, agreeing that both will keep their national status. The New York chapter remains the National Academy of Television Arts &
Sciences, and the Los Angeles body goes back to being the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

September 1980: In order to increase pressure to end a seven-week walkout by SAG and AFTRA performers, television actors boycott the Emmys. Powers Boothe is the only actor who accepts his Emmy at the ceremony.

August 1988: HBO takes home three awards as the academy begins acknowledging cable programming.

September 1989: "The Tracey Ullman Show" gives the fledgling Fox Broadcasting Co. its first Emmy win.

May 1991: The academy moves into its current North Hollywood headquarters.
September 1998: "Frasier" sets an Emmy record when it is named outstanding comedy series for the fifth straight year. During its 11-season run, it wins a total of 37 Emmys.

September 2002: ATAS announces that Oprah Winfrey will be the first recipient of it newly instituted Bob Hope Humanitarian Award.

July 2008: In honor of its newest category, outstanding host for a reality or reality-competition program, the academy announces that the five nominees -- Tom Bergeron ("Dancing With the Stars"), Heidi Klum ("Project Runway"), Howie Mandel ("Deal or No Deal"), Jeff Probst
("Survivor") and Ryan Seacrest ("American Idol") -- will also host the 60th Primetime Emmy Awards.