'King Lear' Tops Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Award Nominations

The production of Shakespeare's play receives five noms, followed by "Four Places" and "The Ballad of Emmett Till" with four each.

Shakespeare's King Lear, featuring alternating star turns by Dakin Matthews and Harry Groener; Rogue Machine's searing family drama Four Places; and Fountain Theatre's powerful The Ballad of Emmett Till are among the most-honored productions in the Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle's 42nd annual awards nominations announced Tuesday.

Lear received five noms, while Places and Till collected four each.

The 2010 citations salute excellence in L.A.-area theater productions. Winners will be announced during a March 14 ceremony at Burbank's Colony Theatre.

Joining the aforementioned shows in contention for the coveted production award are the Fountain's Opus, the Actors' Co-op's Wit, and two world premiere offerings: Del Shores' Yellow (Coast Playhouse) and Tom Jacobson's The Twentieth-Century Way (Theatre @ Boston Court). Shores' Yellow also has been named the recipient of the Ted Schmitt Award for outstanding world premiere script, accompanied by a $1,000 award from Samuel French, which also extends an offer to publish it.

Among other special recipients announced in advance of the ceremony are the Milton Katselas Award for special achievement in directing, won by Simon Levy of the Fountain; the Joel Hirschhorn Award for outstanding achievement in musical theater, won by actor-adaptor-director Matt Walker of the Troubadour Theater Company; the Polly Warfield Award for an outstanding season, given to the classics-focused Antaeus Company (which offered Lear, Jeffrey Hatcher's Cousin Bette, Lillian Hellman's The Autumn Garden and its ClassicsFest of staged readings).

The Margaret Harford Award for excellence in the theater was won by City Garage; the Bob Z Award for special achievement in scenic design goes to Francois-Pierre Couture; and the Angstrom Award for career achievement in lighting design is given to Dan Weingarten.

Founded in 1969, the LADCC is dedicated to excellence in theatrical criticism and to the encouragement and improvement of theater in greater Los Angeles.

The March 14 awards event begins at 7:30 p.m., following a 6:30 p.m. catered reception with a no-host bar, at the Colony Theatre, 555 N. Third St., Burbank. Tickets are $40 and can be reserved in advance. For details, visit www.ladramacriticscircle.com. Also, reservations can be made at crixawards2011@gmail.com.

A complete list of nominees can be found on the next page.


Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Award Nominees

"Four Places," Rogue Machine
"King Lear," The Antaeus Company
"Opus," The Fountain Theatre
"The Ballad of Emmett Till," The Fountain Theatre
"The Twentieth-Century Way," The Theatre@Boston Court
"Wit," Actors Co-op
"Yellow," JD3atrical Productions


McCulloh Award for revival (shows between 1920-80)
"Awake and Sing!," A Noise Within
"Orpheus Descending," Theatre/Theater
"South Pacific," Bob Boyett, NETworks Presentations, LLC, Bob Bartner/Howard Panter for Ambassador Theatre Group, Roger Berlind and Thomas L. Miller; Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre

Bart DeLorenzo, "King Lear"
Shirley Jo Finney, "The Ballad of Emmett Till"
Michael Michetti, "The Twentieth-Century Way"           
Marianne Savell, "Wit"
Matt Shakman, "Forgiveness," Black Dahlia Theatre
August Viverito, "Amadeus," The Production Company

Michael Hollinger, "Opus"
Tom Jacobson, "The Twentieth-Century Way"
Joel Drake Johnson, "Four Places"

Writing (adaptation)
Luis Alfaro, "Oedipus El Rey," The Theatre@Boston Court
Jeffrey Hatcher, "Cousin Bette," The Antaeus Company

Musical direction
Eric Heinly, "A Wither's Tale," Troubadour Theatre Company
David O, "See What I Wanna See," The Blank Theatre|
Steve Orich, "A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum," Reprise Theatre Company

Allison Bibicoff, "The Who's Tommy," Chance Theater
Andy Blankenbuehler, "In The Heights," Kevin McCollum, Jeffrey Seller, Jill Furman Willis, Sander Jacobs, Goodman/Grossman, Peter Fine, Everett/Skipper; Broadway LA/Pantages Theatre
Ayana Cahrr, "Neighbors," Matrix Theatre Company

Musical score (pre-announced recipient)
Lin-Manuel Miranda; "In the Heights"

Lead performance
Lorenz Arnell as Emmett Till in "The Ballad of Emmett Till"
Anne Gee Byrd as Peggy in "Four Places"
Joanna Daniels as Becky Foster in "Becky's New Car," Pacific Resident Theatre
Nike Doukas as "Cousin Bette"
Harry Groener as "King Lear"
Nan McNamara as Vivian Bearing in "Wit"
Bonnie McNeil as Mabel Davies in "Supernova," Elephant Theatre Company
Chris Pine as Padraic in "The Lieutenant of Inishmore," Center Theatre Group/Mark Taper Forum
Patrick Stafford as Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in "Amadeus"
Matt Walker as Leontes in "A Wither's Tale"
Norbert Weisser as Biedermann in "The Arsonists," Odyssey Theatre Ensemble

Featured performance
Eileen Galindo as Matilde in "The Clean House," International City Theatre
Gregory Itzin as the Earl of Kent in "King Lear"
Matthew Scott Montgomery as Kendall Parker in "Yellow"
Agatha Nowicki as Susie in "Parasite Drag," Elephant Theatre Company
Alan Rosenberg as the Director of the World Bank in "Influence," Katselas Theatre Company
Edward Tournier as Gash in "Futura," The Theatre@Boston Court
Time Winters as Smythic in "The Good Book of Pedantry and Wonder," The Theatre@ Boston Court and Circle X Theatre Company

Ensemble performance
"A Wither's Tale"
"Four Places"
"The Ballad of Emmett Till"
"The Twentieth-Century Way"

Set design
John Arnone, "Nightmare Alley," Geffen Playhouse
Brian Sidney Bembridge, "The Good Book of Pedantry and Wonder"
Tom Buderwitz, "The Autumn Garden," The Antaeus Company

Lighting design
Brian Sidney Bembridge, "The Good Book of Pedantry and Wonder"
James L. Moody, "Wit"
KC Wilkerson, "The Who's Tommy"

Costume design
Julie Keen, "Awake and Sing!"
Naila Alladin Sanders, "Neighbors"
Paul Tazewell, "Ruined," Geffen Playhouse and Intiman Theatre

Sound design
Peter Bayne, "Opus"
Sean Kozma, "The Arsonists"
John Zalewski, "King Lear"

Solo performance
Ed Harris, "Wrecks," Geffen Playhouse
Leslie Uggams, "Uptown Downtown," Pasadena Playhouse

Hana Sooyeon Kim, "Futura"
KC Wilkerson, "The Who's Tommy"

Specialty (pre-announced recipients)
Chris Bell for special effects, "Absinthe, Opium & Magic," The Grand Guignolers
Matthew W. Mungle and Waldo Warshaw for special effects and prosthetic effects, "The Lieutenant of Inishmore"